📸 Japan: Osaka Castle (大阪城, Ōsakajō) - Original film photos from 2001

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

One of my trips around the world over the years was to Japan. We flew into Osaka and got to explore the surrounding prefectures for 2 whole weeks. These pictures are quite old (2001), back when I wasn't officially a photographer and was using a simple 35mm camera. But going through my old stuff I realized these aren't that bad for a complete newbie. I wish I had the original film so I could digitize them better.

This is Osaka Castle, which "is a Japanese castle in Chūō-ku, Osaka, Japan. The castle is one of Japan's most famous landmarks and it played a major role in the unification of Japan during the sixteenth century of the Azuchi-Momoyama period" Wikipedia

I was lucky enough to be there in spring during the famous blossom season.

Temple with blossoms2.jpg

Temple 22.jpg

Temple 2 from moat2.jpg

Temple from the Bridge 2.jpg

Temple 2 blosoms2.jpg

Its been 1.5 decades since I was in Japan, and I've been wanting to go back quite badly ever since. Japan is such an awesome country, the people are insanely nice, its pretty hard to have a bad time there!

Thanks for taking a look, check out my other photography on my blog!

Sort:  

Nice photos. I visited there during a September a few years ago. Wished I was there during the blossom season!

Thanks. Yeah at the time I didn't know what a big deal it was to be there during the blossoms, I just remember how they were EVERYWHERE. Smelled really nice.

Nice shot, my favorit country to travel. Good Culture in japan.. good people..

Thanks :) yeah Japanese people were the nicest I've ever met. If you bump into someone, they apologize. I need to get back there.

Wow, this is the coolest photo I've ever seen @nord. Thank you for posting and information.

Thanks :)

Neat! Saw this post featured on @jrvacation (๑•‿•๑). And yes, the 35mm! These photos all look pretty great (๑✧‿✧๑). I wouldn't even guess it's from 2001. I'd just assume it used a filter.

I have yet to visit Osaka Castle, and I'm hoping to go during the cherry blossom season (๑✧‿✧๑). Don't know when that would be though (๑˃‿˂).

Oh cool! I'm glad my photos are getting around! And yeah, definitely google when the bloom will be and try to get there during it! The castle was really cool. The golden temple is a bit cooler IMO though, but its a drive but worth it.

Yes! (๑•‿•๑) And I've been wanting to go during spring for the past 20 or so years! But any time I had the opportunity, it was always before or after. Not that I'm complaining, haha! Kinkaku-ji was super neat, but we underestimated the crowds (๑˃﹏˂).

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nords
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=japan-osaka-castle-sakaj-original-film-photos-from-2001


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99