A Winter's Sunrise in Wollongong, Australia

in #photography7 years ago

DSC08960.JPG

A very good evening to my fellow Steemians!

I am a firm believer of writing at least a few words to accompany my photography. While, it can be a moving experience to simply allow yourself to be transported by the imagery in front of you, a few words can add context and place it within a deeper story. We all know that without the photographer’s judgement and reason to leave the house, what you see would fail to be captured and we would all be worse off for not experiencing it.

This morning, I had absolutely no intention of taking morning photographs at the beach. As I took some clothes to the laundry, I caught a glimpse of the sky.

Bold reds streaked above me.

Reds and oranges are my trigger. I adore the deep warmth these colours bring and I leapt at the chance to race down to the beach for five minutes of snapping what I could. Wearing my bed hair and my pyjamas, I took forty photos among a group of middle-aged office workers going through their morning group yoga and meditation session.

It was just pure luck that one of the container ships out in the distance was positioned in just the right place. There's a pretty good justification for the locals calling our town 'Wonderful Wollongong'.

Too true.

DSC09000.JPG

DSC08993.JPG

Thanks so much for stopping by! If you appreciated the Winter Wollongong Sunrise, be sure to UPVOTE! (and comment). It helps tremendously. I always look at the upvoters and pay each a visit to see what's happening around me.

All the best,
Nick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19