Morning Angel's Trumpet

in #photography6 years ago

This morning I arrived at work not too long after the sunrise. Daylight savings' time is wreaking havoc with my sleep schedule and I wake up when it's still dark outside.

Right before I went into the building I noticed how lovely the flowerbed at the entrance to the building looks, lit as it was by the early morning sun so I took a few pictures.

I was particularly interested in these large, yellow, trumpet like flowers.

IMG_20180325_073105.jpg

IMG_20180325_073057.jpg

I like how the low angle makes it look more like a wild garden than the entrance to an office building. The eye is first drawn to the abundant leafy greens in the forefront rather than to the office buildings in the back.

Google tells me these flowers are called 'Angel's Trumpet' or Brugmansia. When checking out the Wikipedia page I was interested to see that the plant was poisonous, with the seeds and leaves being especially dangerous. It is also described as an hallucinogenic and yet, it is most commonly used these days as a flowering ornamental plant.

curious.

I hope no one decides to decorate any food or drink with these flowers or leaves.

Here's one more picture I took this morning.

IMG_20180325_073118.jpg

I wonder if you can also identify the plants next to your workplace using google :)

Have a good day steemians and a good week.

Sort:  

wow!!! nice flower beautiful pic @mrlightning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85