Goal: To Reach 1,000,000 Rural Dwellers Across Africa, Have Their Photographs Taken, And Leave Them With Prints 🙂

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

ur_1.jpg


So recently I have been thinking of how to coordinate efforts and reach out to 1 million rural dwellers across communities in Africa with an outreach of documenting them in their environments and leaving them with keepsakes in the form of tangible prints. People whose chances of getting actual photographs taken of them are really really slim. You heard that right: ONE MILLION.

I am preparing the actual documents that will communicate the goals and plans for this initiative. I hope I can adopt a pluralistic, coordinated approach by mobilizing lots and lots of photographers to participate as volunteers. I am weighing stuff at this stage. I would appreciate any ideas on how we can go about the logistic and funding of an initiative as enormous as ours.

In the meantime I have some 20 prints from a visit I made to a local community a short while ago. I plan to stop by there and hand the prints to the owners. Talk about testing waters.

Here I would share some of those photographs:

ur_12.jpg

ur_10.jpg

ur_3.jpg

ur_11.jpg

ur_8.jpg

ur_9.jpg


All pictures above, with some 30-ish other ones have been printed and I plan to go donate them to the subjects over the weekend.

I look forward to your opinions and suggestions on how to go about this 🙂


Images are properties of @misterakpan. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Awesome idea man, glad you are still around :)

You are a good, man. I really appreciate you. I'm here for the lasting friendships. Good too to have you.

Hey, @misterakpan!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

That's great an idea to reachout to those rurals. Some of them have great stuffs which they can offer and the world can learn from.

Ete, ekoom do!

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/everosy, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Hey man, awesome and inspiring work! This is the first time i'm seeing such an initiative and i am proud of you and the fact that you're asking nothing in return. It will be very valuable to these people.


As a means to tracking progress, how soon will you begin? Will you be sharing the roadmap and an estimated time of completion with the community? I think you could get funding for this at Fundition.io or Kickstarter. I can also throw in a few bucks.

Congratulations @misterakpan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23