Lisboa photos in between Steemfest days: Basilica da Estrela

in #photography6 years ago

In between Steemfest thingies and even on my way there, I tried to take a little time to actually see some of the city's beauty. Even though I am everything but religious, there is something about churches that attracts me like flies to a pile of ....(you can fill that in).

To my surprise, I even managed to get a few nice pictures, even though my camera is ancient.

This is one of the two bells of the Basilica da Estrela. It was very tempting....if only I could manage to get in there...

DSC04251.JPG

Two bells....😥

I always loved Baroque and Neoclassical building styles, this one has both! Yay!

DSC04261.JPG

Now, let's have a better look at that triangle on the top...

DSC04323.JPG

OK: first thing that came to mind was 'Illuminati'. Then I thought it could just be a triangle with Alpha and Omega (the beginning and the end). OR MAYBE BOTH??? Interesting to say the least, and it now gets stored in my research book. Thanks Queen Mary I ! (as if I didn't have enough to research as it is...)

The history behind this church, or basilica (I'm sorry, I haven't got a clue what the difference is) is quite interesting I think. When I tried to read about it on my phone while there, somehow I could only come up with info in Portuguese.
But what I could still understand was that the church had been ordered to be build by some mad queen.
INTERESTING...
So it was time to check inside.

The interior was stunning. What a piece of art! I have the utmost respect for whoever designed and built this.
WOW!

Look what I found!

The mad queen was buried inside! What a find! Looking at the skulls, a bit creepy to some maybe. I LOVE it!

SKULLZZZZ!!! 😍

And of course Mary was there too...
Just look at the face, awesome!

The all-seeing eye??

DSC04359.JPG

I went back during the day. I really need a new camera...

DSC04324.JPG

More of the statues on the building. Amazing artwork.

DSC04321.JPG

And my 'posers'.

😍

DSC04267.JPG

I hope you liked the photos, I know I loved the Basilica. There is so much I haven't seen yet in Lisbon, so a very good reason to come back.

For now, good night.

REVOLUTION.jpg

giphy (2).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @misslasvegas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Some great photos, I love the interior of this place. Would be interesting to see if there are any Illuminati links, their symbolism does crop up in a lot of places.

Yes, I have a few photos that I didn't post. One with the famous two snakes...
It also shows the connection between the medical world, church and royal houses.
I haven't really looked into the Portuguese royals yet, but I bet I'll find some family ties in other families.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85