Sunset over the Caribbean in Cozumel, Mexico - Original work

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I took this shot a few minutes after sunset. The sun had fallen below the horizon from our on-the-ground point of view, but nothing was blocking the sun from lighting up the highest cloud in the sky! Because the cloud was so high above the horizon, I needed to use a vertical composition to really get it in the frame. I really like how it came out, with "bands" of color and texture. Orange at the top, blue sky, purple clouds, and finally the texture and reflective quality of the water.

I took this photo last year in Cozumel, Mexico while I was living there. I made this edit exclusively for steemit.

text

Canon T5i
Canon 18-55mm IS STM lens
ISO 100
f/6.3
1/100 sec

Click to view in high resolution!

Check out my introduceyourself post

I want to make your steemit experience more beautiful! Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

Beautiful I love a good sunset shot!

The colours that are released once the sun starts to sink are stunning.

Upvoted and Followed!

Thank you! You're right that the real color comes after the sun drops below the horizon.

Exquisite scene!

Love the purple/blue/yellow combination!

now THAT is a dang sunset!

Just stunning!

Photo perfect - 3D volume!

Can't decide whether to upvote the sunset or the beard :)

Beautiful!

Beautiful view. I will follow.

Cozumel is gorgeous I once stayed there for a few weeks just to get my bearings. It has an energy to it like no place else on earth!

That's cool that you know the place! Cozumel definitely left a permanent mark on me. I'll be going back there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88