Ladybugs and Larva - 4 original photos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

After a family breakfast at Huddle House last week, I noticed a bunch of ladybugs on a tree near the restaurant. They were larvae and pupae growing into young ladybugs, and I took some photos.

text


text


text


Here, you can see an adult ladybug next to a larva. I wonder what life-advice he's offering the little larva!

text

I took these photos with my iPhone 5s, edited them in Lightroom CC, and I haven't shared them anywhere else. Thank you for looking!

Click an image to view it in high resolution!

Check out my introduceyourself post

Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

Welcome back. It's been a while.

Happy New Year to you.

FYI, there's a bug with using 5 tags causing only one to work. For example, you won't see your this post in https://steemit.com/created/insects
There's a few people who wrote about this before. This is one of the post:
https://steemit.com/glitch/@timcliff/attention-steemit-com-glitch-do-not-use-5-tags-when-creating-posts-only-use-4

It has been a long time! Thank you, and happy New Year to you too! Thank you for letting me know about the bug!

You're welcome and thank you too

It's good to see you back here! I wondered if you would return. I wanted to be happy in seeing your ladybugs, too. But I can't. They are the dreaded Harmonia axyridis, one of the most invasive insects in the world. They reduce the native ladybug populations where ever they show up, outside their native Asian homeland. That black and white "M" or "W" on the adult in the last picture is diagnostic for this insect.

In North America, the Lost Ladybug Project (http://www.lostladybug.org) asks people to report their ladybugs, to help document how the little beetles are faring. Kids are especially good at helping out, because they are close to the ground and love ladybugs. But Steetmit photographers might be good ladybug reporters, too! : )

Happy New Year! And I hope you have a great year in 2017 - back here on Steemit!

Hi, thank you very much for the warm welcome back! And thank you for letting me know about the invasive ladybugs and the Lost Ladybug Project. I had no idea. Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99