Take A Drive With Me To Mount Rushmore And Learn A Little History

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

261962_682548465816_3311929_n(1) 2.jpg

Living in South Dakota for three years, seeing Mount Rushmore was on my to do list before I finished college and moved back to Tennessee. I lived on the eastern side of South Dakota and to be honest...it was a pretty boring place at times. I remember taking long drives for fun down the highways and seeing nothing but flat land and not much else. In the western part of the state the landscape is more hilly, rocky, and diverse. Western South Dakota is a beautiful place with more to look at in terms of natural beauty.

Starting The Drive In Eastern South Dakota

264315_682196176806_3059824_n(1).jpg

My road trip west to see Mount Rushmore started out in the Eastern part of the state near the border to Minnesota. As you can see in the picture above, the land is very flat. When you see this view day after day like I did it's easy to wish for more to see. I grew up in the mountains of Tennessee so all this flat land drove me crazy!

Right Before You See Mount Rushmore You Get Great Views Off The Sides of the Highway

261552_682548425896_7297612_n.jpg

269634_682548435876_1652295_n.jpg

As you can see in these two pictures, the land in the western part of the state is vastly different than in the east. There are lots of trees, hills, rocks, and more. This part of South Dakota is more beautiful in my opinion and I wished I gotten the chance to explore more of the Black Hills and Rushmore area.

265657_682548380986_5509952_o.jpg

A Quick History of Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore was created to attract tourists to South Dakota. The person credited with coming up with the idea to carve a sculpture to attract tourists to the area was Doane Robinson. He was able to convince others this project was worthy of attention and he secured federal funding to start work on what we now know as Mount Rushmore.

Constructed from 1927 to 1941, Mount Rushmore features four U.S. presidents (Washington, Lincoln, Roosevelt, and Jefferson) who were chosen because they were seen as most important in expanding the territories of the U.S. Dynamite was a tool largely used to blast rock off of the mountain. Drills and other tools used for carving were then used to etch the faces and their features into rock. The plan was to include more carvings and faces in the mountainside but Mount Rushmore only had the four faces completed before they couldn't continue due to lack of funding.

source

My First View of Mount Rushmore

261850_682548450846_4650013_n(1).jpg

As you drive around some windy roads, Mount Rushmore appears and it's an surreal sight to see in ways. All you see is the natural beauty of the world and them BAM!!! You see these giant faces appear on the mountainside. I remember my first thought seeing it was "I thought it would be bigger." When you see Mount Rushmore in movies or in pictures you see in magazines or history books they are always zoomed in. From a distance on the highways the sculpture seemed smaller than I thought it would be.

261962_682548465816_3311929_n(1).jpg

The highway goes right in front of the sculpture and as you ride by you realize how big it actually is. It's hard to imagine being a worker helping to carve those faces. Back in the 1920s through the 1940s you didn't have advanced technology like we have now. I would have never risked my life back then to hang by cables and simple wood structures to work on the sculpture. It amazes me that people were able to carve such detailed faces using dynamite and hand tools.

Leaving Mount Rushmore Behind

264900_682548371006_7088868_n.jpg

The highway going past Mount Rushmore is surrounded on both sides by rocky mountains. As you drive past Rushmore, as we did towards Wyoming, the rocky mountains disappear and you are once again greeted with open sky. Just a little ways past Mount Rushmore you see other attractions to lure tourists to the area to capitalize on the popularity of the nearby towns as tourist destinations.

My Favorite Tourist Trap: Bedrock City: Aka Flintstones Theme Park!

280341_682548341066_2210481_o(1).jpg

267616_682548331086_6387393_n(1).jpg

Built in 1966, Bedrock City is located in Custer, South Dakota. I unfortunately lost all but these two pictures to a hard drive failure years ago but Bedrock City is a pretty neat place to see. If you are a fan of the Flintstones it is a theme park featuring places you might see in the cartoon city. It has rock homes like Fred Flintstone would live in and you can see sculptures of the cartoon characters throughout the park. It's cute and was unexpected to see right after seeing the wonder of Mount Rushmore. I never would have known there was a real "Bedrock City" unless I'd driven past Mount Rushmore.

Thanks for taking a drive with me!


teamusa.png

Sort:  

Maybe it will be like buck rogers and someone will be frozen in time and come back centuries later and find this discovery of these ancient monuments in the side of a mountain wonder what it is. ala a Fallout 4

I never knew about Bedrock City before.

me neither! This looks so cool!

Hello @marxrab, nice the landscape and your photographs, thanks for sharing Dakota's story

My grandfather took us on a roadtrip to South Dakota when I was a child. I remember seeing both of these places!

Wonderful tour, really nice, thank you for all the beautiful pictures, I liked you not miss the opportunity to photograph the wonderful places of your trip.
The history of Mount Rushmore Mount Rushmore is a national landmark in the United States of America, showing the faces of carved granite sculptures of four of the most influential presidents of the United States of America in its history.
Thank you for all this dear @marxrab

I wonder if the plans are still lying around for the other faces in the rock for Mount Rushmore? Bed Rock City sounds so cool...

kamu telah melakukan pekerjaan yang bagus.
saya sangat menyukai pekerjaan photograpy karna saya seorang photograpy kecil kecilan.
sukses selalu untuk mu..

Nice! I didn't know there was a Flintstones themed thing out there! It's been ages since I've seen that area, though. Did you get to hike in the Black Hills at all? That area is amazing!

I was there back in the late 90's, and had a blast :-)

I didn't realize there is such beautiful country out there. These are great pictures

You see these giant faces appear on the mountainside

Wow! Like faces were carved outta rocks/mountains?

Never seen any tho. And I feel excited about its perfection and beauty.

Thanks for sharing @marxrab. The photography and story is on point.

images(2).jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89