Broken record

in #photography6 years ago


Recently while moving some things around the house, I noticed this very old looking suitcase. Of course my curious nature made me look what was hidden inside. However, I did not expect to find something so cool. Gramophone! Portable, wind-up gramophone called Sonorous Bell made in England. Year was engraved on the winding key. It was a bit faded, but still readable 1924.

If this discovery of 94 year old relic wasn’t enough, how about the fact that it was still functioning? My cheeks were hurting from smiling while listening to the record of the song called Vienalga man in Latvian. The sound was absolutely horrible, but still very recognizable and made me think of old retro movies. So I was sitting there in the pile of dust surrounded by old records for a good while. Some English records, some Latvian, some German and French.

Usually I am not very clingy to things and generally think less is more, but this antique find seemed so precious. A piece that makes you time travel. Well at least wonder a little about different times.

It was still functioning until let’s try to fix the sound a little broke it, so unfortunately I am not able to share the gramophone itself or the sounds it made with you this time. That is until the broken part is fixed and it can be fixed. So it is not so sad or permanent after all.

Anyway, have a look at these amazing record covers each telling a bit of history! The record discs were made from shellac. Vinyl records came a lot later in 1950’s.  







His Master’s Voice originally was a painting made by Francis Barraud of a terrier mix dog named Nipper who appeared listening to a wind-up gramophone. It later became famous trademark in the recording industry and was also made into a bronze statue awarded to artists, music producers and composers.





























Hopefully something with a bit of sound will follow soon.

[source: His Master’s Voice]

Song of the day: Lana Del Rey - Art Deco

Sort:  

This post reminded me that I have some of those records as well. In fact, I also have the HMV player also. It was my grandfather's on my dad's side (whom I never met as he passed away). I am the custodian of many family items and this is one of them. I just raced out and grabbed a couple of pictures... Doesn't old stuff have a certain charm.

Oh my! This is absolutely wonderful! And the silver case for the records ^^ Old stuff definitely have a certain charm. Even though people now make new stuff that looks old, it is not the same as something that has endured time. Thank you so much for sharing @galenkp :)

No problems @m31 As soon as I read your blog I raced out and grabbed some images. Your post made me think about something that had been out of mind for a long time so thank you.

Wow that's cool! Not every day you can find an old and dusty suitcase with such a relic. The album covers are wonderful. Even if you are not one of those people who accumulate things that gramophone is worthy of admiration.

Absolutely ^^ My little brother was happy about the find as well. He said it could be apocalypse, with no electricity and we would still have the music. It is remarkable to think of all the things people have invented. Brilliant minds.

Your little brother has all the reason. In these days, we are not able to do anything without electricity or Internet connection. When apocalypse comes, your gramophone will be very quoted :D

I envy you your find ^^ ... And what a pity about it breaking, hehe. That must have been frustrating. Luckily vinyl has made a come back in recent years so it shouldn't be too hard to find someone to restore it.

Vinyl records are special to me because it was my mother's ELO "Time" album on vinyl that first got me into appreciating music. How I miss the feeling of starting it up and carefully putting the needle onto the spinning disk, and that little scratch sound as it first touches down... <3

Ah, yeah. It happened right before I happily wanted to grab it and head outside by the forest to play some records and attempt recording it with my camera. Even though some things are well made and endure time, they are still very fragile. That is the lesson learned :)

Aww. Thank you for sharing that! Absolutely understand what you mean! My grandmother had a little more modern record player for vinyl records. I used to listen to them every time I visited her. Seemed so much more special somehow ^^

Usually I am not very clingy to things and generally think less is more, but this antique find seemed so precious.

If you're going to pick some things to be attached to, things this old and cool are definitely the thing.

Never been much of a "thing" person myself, except for old things. I like old computer stuff a lot. Keep a lot of it around. Reminds me of simpler times :)

Nice find! Hope you can get it repaired soon.

I sometimes look at old things such as this one and imagine if only they could tell stories about the times they been through.

Do you ever wonder if the things that are made today will get the same admiration from people as those that were made 100 or more years ago from now? Somehow I don't see it. Maybe because of consumerism and low quality of things that are produced. On purpose even, so people throw them away and buy new.

I hope so too Lem ^^

I think you're mostly right. I do think certain things will get that sort of admiration, though. VR headsets come to mind. The first iterations are so hilariously underwhelming. The screens will get better, the lenses will improve, or maybe in 15 years everyone will have a direct optical nerve implant or something. When that happens, these silly, expensive things people wear on their heads, with cords attached and stuff... I think the experience of using one then will be a lot like listening to your gramophone.

To the low-quality point I agree, but I think that perhaps the "nostalgic" objects of the future, much like your gramophone, will need to be restored to their former glory before enjoyment.

really amazing record covers...hey @m31 are you interest in record collection, i'm just asking, plz dont mind...this is very old and antic records.
Great shot full of interesting details.

They are, aren't they? ^^ First time I glanced at them, I was blown away by the old paper and illustrations and information of those old days.

No, I am not collecting, but I certainly can understand those people who do.

Thank you. I am really glad you appreciated :)

most welcome m31

Very nice Photography. thanks for sharing this post.i appreciate your story...

Thank you :)

I almost found a friend relic, Hahaha I hope you had a good day greetings

Thank you. I hope you have a great day too :)

Nice M. What a find, I'd be stoked finding that. Well maybe there would be something as vintage as I am around hahahahaha. Thanks for sharing, makes me think back on mom's old gramophone although hers was electric, but still old, older than me at least.

You got a 37.94% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14