Walking in the park, all around in autumn splendor. Part 3

in #photography7 years ago

Follow me for a walk in the park!


Dog-rose fruit.

Maclura pomifera fruit

pods Sophora

Cones

Moss


Snail on the a tree leaf.


For full size click on the photo
As always, these are my original photos.
Enjoy watching!
#leylar-photo

Sort:  

The Maclura Pomifera fruit are what we call hedge balls, hedge apples, or osage oranges here in the midwest.

That's what I was just getting ready to type, lol. I really like how many names this plant has -- hedge apples, osage orange, and bois d'arc -- pronounced where I grew up in Kansas as Bo-Dark. They were great for throwing at each other -- they hurt -- and feeding to pigs. I've been trying to find some where I live now in Oregon. I saw one on a road, but there was no tree around. There's got to be one around. I'd like to have one in my yard, just for old times sake, haha.

Has many names of this plant - pomum adami. So is called in Ukraine.

Thanks, @leylar. I'll add popum adami to my list of names for this tree and fruit.

I have been taking hedge apples from a local park this fall and throwing them about in our timber. I figure the deer might like to eat them, and maybe a few will seed into trees. I love the smell, too. It is one of the pleasures of fall.

I imagine those would hurt getting thrown around at each other!

By the way my dad lives in Kansas -- Osage City.

Haha, @countryinspired - I bet there are a lot of Osage oranges in Osage City! I hope you get some seedlings from all your "planting"!

Hello @leylar,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.007 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29