The Old Dog Presents: The Mundane as Art No. 3. Damaged Asphalt! 10 SBD PrizesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Following up on our previous successes of Mundane Art I am happy to announce a new theme. Damaged Asphalt!

Our Previous Galleries

The Old Dog Presents: The Mundane as Art. Your Photographs of Streets!

What Are we Looking For This Time?

@old-guy-photos sent me an "abstract" photograph of some cracked asphalt and another member @richq11 mentioned that potholes could also be used to create pieces of art.

The best Damaged asphalt as Art photo wins 10 SBD and the deadline is 7 days. May the best crackpot win!

Here Are Some Examples 


Here is a photo that was submitted as a sample by @old-guy-photos. Hmm tough to beat Old Guy!


I found this one on @pixabay.com. Very dramatic isn't it?


Wow, Lot's going on in this photograph. Shades, texture and a focal point of interest!  Photo Credit


Here's a shot that I took this afternoon. The fallen, decaying foliage ads variety and eye movement!


Not only has this got a lot of interesting shapes but this road needs some serious repair. Photo credit 

What Do You Think?

  • Our last two galleries were a big success will this one be also?
  • What other mundane object can we focus on next time?
  • Will you be entering and trying to win the 10 SBD prize?


I hope that you enjoyed this article on "The Mundane as Art No. 3. Damaged Asphalt! 10 SBD Prize"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Our dearest @onceuponatime suggested I should enter my post in your wonderful contest...

https://steemit.com/art/@sofi-m/rainbow-over-the-mud-photography-by-sofi-m-20171119t22165192z

image

That's a beauty. It shall find its rightful place in our gallery!

Hey, you're going to have to compete with this list:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_most_visited_art_museums

I've been getting quite a few inquiries.

Alaskan Earthquake

As Art ;-)

alaska draw.jpg

Just messin with ya, this post is another cool idea!

Are you sure that aint my neighborhood? (Detroit) LOL??

Those are some major potholes.

That's a really interesting and creative idea for a challenge... as there is no shortage of bad roads around here, I now eagerly await a spot of daylight to add something here... till the morning! (Putting this here as a place holder to remind myself where to look!)

If you like to use filters and photoshop I'm open to manipulation of the photos as well. @kalemadra has done a few of those and they are looking good!

https://steemit.com/photography/@kalemandra/mundane-art-by-kus-knee-cracked-asphalt-as-art-1st-entry

I had to do a whole post on it here:
https://steemit.com/oldtimers/@old-guy-photos/the-old-guy-supports-the-old-dog-s-initiative-of-potholes-and-puddles
But I think this one is my funniest one. Obviously the road crew were trying out the adage that "less is more" lol. Not sure that works well in the world of asphalt repair LOL
P1110701.JPG

Nice post late at night! You're sure burinig the midnight oil.

I love the photo and the post! I'd like to keep this Mundane as Art as a weekly challenge if possible while creating more and more virtual galleries. Any ideas for future themes would be appreciated.

I would like to see a theme of common household items.

This is for you

IMG_20171115_165510_edited.jpg

And a second one :-)

IMG_20171115_165040_edited.jpg

Hope that is what you mean, buona serata;-)

Thanks so much for these. You are the first one to explore the damaged asphalt as part of a composition. Where did you take these photographs?

Sono molto contento di avere le foto di un talento come te! Grazie, tra una settimana preparo l'esposizione nella nostra galleria virtuale!

I toke it yesterday in Marbella (Spain), because I was some day here, but tomorrow I come back to Ticino!!!!:-) Ti ringrazio molto del complimento e sono già curiosa! Buona serata, Carol

If it's not too late:

This brilliant piece of cracked pavement was captured outside on the ground during the day.
Before this shot is hung permanently in the Met it will be traveling to Paris to be hung in numerous galleries. But I thought Steemit should probably see the jpeg first.
IMG_8166.jpg

It's not too late and thanks to you for this opportunity to have it in our gallery before it makes its way to other (for the time being) more prestigious galleries!

Here is my entry. Last week I was in Poland but I was driving with collegues so I could not make the picture.. So I made this picture from google maps. So I am not there for the prices but I had to make an entry

Thanks for thinking of this post!

This isn't fair Old Dog... I went out and spent $150 (for a free phone that has a camera) and didn't even give me a chance to figure out how to use it lol!!!

I'm really looking forward to your entries so I hope that you get it figured out!

I'm getting there! I went to a place that has "free phones" and got an LG X Power that only cost me $150! What I got was a small computer (that has more memory than my home computer) with a phone option. At the rate I'm going, I'll have to live to be 125 to figure it out!!! Hopefully my 6 year old granddaughter can give me some insights- she's a whiz with them! I took a couple of photos and they seem ok- I wanted to go out today but it's raining (naturally). So, we'll see if I can figure out the zoom and stuff like that... I did manage to turn the flash on!

Haha ! Too funny , you sound like me ! Its also windy and rainy snow here , so I might try again tomorrow !! LOL! Good Luck !!😂😂😂📷📱

Well, the sun has come up (so to speak) on what looks like another crappy day for outdoor photography!

I feel your pain ! Rain / snow/windy / cold / wet Brrrrrr ! Im going to bed LOL! Maybe I will try later tonight after I sleep all day !😴😴😴☔☔☔❄🌀⚡💧

You are so funny! I'm sure you'll have a lot of fun with your new computer/camera/ sometimes phone!

Thank you my friend... I actually got a call on it last night (I was able to answer before it stopped ringing)

Maybe you should of opted for the Jitterbug LOL! The one for the...well lets just say those advanced (in years) LOL. You will get it down in no time bud.

The one with the great big numbers!

OK Old Dog aka @kus-knee ! As promised Heres my Mud Fest Photos ! from where the expect me to walk around and do security for 10 hrs ! LOL! I just took these at 4 am ! 😂
You can see the reflexion of my car in the very deep , pot hole ! I am surrounded by mud , and just hope my car doesn't sink or get stuck at this construction site !! All the asphalt has been ripped up , BUT THERE'S PLENTY OF POT HOLES MY FRIEND !!😂😂😂

😂 Haha ! Happy Thursday my friend !! 😂

Now this really is asphalt that's been destroyed!

Ha haha ! No More asphalt , only mud and plenty of potholes ! LOL! Its lots of fun !😂😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94