Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

in #photography6 years ago

619A8728.jpg
619A8723.jpg

I haven't had any soups in a minute it seemed like, but then on Monday while choosing posts for the curation show I stumbled upon @missdeli's Beef Soup recipe and it made me really crave that warm, satisfying goodness, especially since it's still feels a lot like winter here in Michigan.
Sadly, I had no beef on the bone or enough stuff to make her Romanian dish, but I had a butternut squash sitting around :). Thanks for the inspiration, lady, and by the way, guys, check @missdeli's blog out, she makes delicious food!

To be honest y'all, I have never been a big fan of pumpkin and such, but ever since I tried cooking butternut squash soup last fall and tasted it for the first time, I was like: hmm, it's not that bad haha.

Ingredients:

  • 1 shallot;
  • 1 bay leaf;
  • 1 small-medium sized butternut squash;
  • 2 garlic cloves;
  • 2 cups chicken broth;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • ground nutmeg to taste;
  • ground rosemary to taste;
  • a dollop of sour cream;
  • fresh parsley for serving;
  • roasted pumpkin seeds for serving.

619A8707.jpg
619A8726.jpg

Directions:

Peel and cube the butternut squash, sprinkle some olive oil on top and roast at 350F until it gets tender.
Heat your cooking oil in a soup pan, add in chopped shallot and garlic, stir occasionally making sure the vegetables don't get burned, next add in the roasted butternut squash and spices (rosemary, salt, pepper, nutmeg, bay leaf), pour in chicken broth, bring to a boil and simmer for about 10-15 minutes.
Puree the soup in a blender or your food processor, then return it back to the pot, thin with more chicken broth if required. Add sour cream to the soup and mix well.
Serve hot immediately, garnish with fresh parsley leaves, cracked pepper medley and/or pumpkin seeds. Enjoy!

619A8724.jpg
619A8733.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

Looks delicious ^_^

Thank you :)

Winter dragging on here for ever ! Something like this soup looks good in this sort of weather.

Agreed! I am so ready for spring/summer haha

Ohhh:D thanks so much! I'm glad I did, inspiring you I mean. This is what I'm trying to do on steemit. Inspire people getting healthier and eating more healthy foods:D So, a soup is something healthy!:D
Nice photos, your photos are completely amazing! Really really!

Thank you, thank you @missdeli! Glad ya enjoyed them and thanks again for inspiration!

Wow, you finally did cook something. Missdeli was quite an inspiration like you said in your curation post. That looks nice..
The food has a look feel of an African dish, help me a post from me soon about cooking.

Thanks!

To be honest, I haven't had African food before, would have to check it out sometime :)

This soup looks thick ... mmm rich!

I know from the ingredients that this soup has great flavor and proteins.

Right on!!!

Thanks for stopping by!

Oh delish! I have half of that squash in a fridge (the other half was sued for risotto) and I was going to use it for a soup. I usually add a potato and some red lentils. One of my favourite soups!

Red lentils sounds good, I've never had it though, but I it seems like a good idea to add it into a butternut squash soup, thanks!

You should try it. They are milder in taste than green ones, and they almost completely fall apart.

Mmmm... that looks good!
I might have t make this to get through the 2nd Michigan winter. lol

Thank you!!!

Right, I can't wait till June, this cold is taking too long!

Your soup looks so good and your photos are great too! I'm glad I found your blog!

Thank you, happy to know you enjoyed them :)

I can't wait to try this soup! Thanks for the recipe :)

No problem! Hope you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45