Chickpea & Quinoa Salad

in #photography6 years ago

619A9015.jpg
619A9022.jpg

I have not always liked chickpeas, they are relatively new food to me since the first time I encountered them was about three years ago, crazy, isn't it?
Chickpeas make a great addition to vegetable salads in my opinion, so usually I grab a can every time I go grocery shopping. I like having them around just in case I feel like making some hummus or a salad. What is your favorite food made out of chickpeas?

619A9008.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 round tomatoes (diced);
  • 1 can of chickpeas (~15 oz);
  • 2 small cucumbers (sliced);
  • 2 sweet mini peppers (sliced);
  • 1 shallot (chopped);
  • 3/4 cup cooked quinoa;
  • salt, pepper to taste;
  • roasted pumpkin seeds for garnish;
  • flax seeds for garnish.

Dressing:

  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar;
  • 2 tb. spoons extra virgin olive oil;
  • a pinch of ground cumin, coriander, paprika, garlic powder, parsley flakes and turmeric.

619A9010.jpg

Directions:

Combine all of the veggies, chickpeas and cooked quinoa together, make the dressing by mixing red wine vinegar, olive oil and seasonings, add salt and pepper to taste and top with roasted pumpkin seeds and flax seeds. Serve immediately.

I would recommend using fresh parsley for this salad instead of dried parsley flakes, unfortunately, I didn't have any on hand. And if you happen to have some lemon juice, feel free to drizzle some on top as well for the fresh citrus flavor.

619A9020.jpg
619A9023.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

Very nice recipe here @kotturinn! And beautiful photos as always that leave my mouth watering and wanting to eat everything I see! I'm happy you're getting into chickpeas, they're wonderful. My favourite way to prepare them is roasted with black pepper and chilli... then I add them to salads hot or cold. Yum!

Thank you very much, Joanna!!!

You know I've been thinking of roasted chickpeas here for some time now, I think you would have to do that with the ones that are dry first and then boiled? I'm not sure haha, but I would like to try them roasted!

I empty them out the carton, rinse them, pat dry on a tea towel (well, kinda put them in a tea-towel, gather the corners and give em a good shake dry!) The put them on a baking tray, drizzle with a tiny bit of oil, sprinkle with herbs & spices, and roast at about 200 degrees Celsius for about 30 minutes. Soooo tasty! You can also do a sweet version with honey & cinnamon... makes the perfect snack! :-)

Gotcha! I had no idea you could bake them when they're raw haha. Thank you for the tips, I shall try cooking them this way :)

I hope you enjoy them! :-)

Me too! Kinda excited haha, I have a little bit left, so I should be making them soon :)

@kotturinn, The cuisine is tasty and delicious, I am hungry😄

an excellent recipe, dear friend. It looks very delicious!
thanks for this wonderful recipe :)

Oh my GOODNESS! I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE!!!

You should make it and tell me how you liked it :)

Thank you!

I will make it but I don’t know when lol

This looks very good, the quinoa is very healthy hurts I have not been able to eat it, but I know it is very good it has many good nutrients, I liked that photo of those vegetables have very bright colors @kotturinn

Thank you, friend :)

Yeah, I've heard a lot of good things about quinoa too, I don't cook it very often even though we got a couple different kinds, but I should. You can even cook it with chicken!

If I think she is very practical, you can prepare her with many things, I have never eaten it, it costs a lot of money in my country and you almost can not get it

how are you today?

Yeah, it is sorta pricey here as well compared to other grains.

I'm doing pretty good, just had dinner, what about you?

That's right, although here in my country everything is worth a lot of money.

I'm fine today was a free day in my country tomorrow back to work

good photograpy

Loading...

This looks quite tasty. Chickpeas are common here and taste great with salads.

Thanks! I thought it was pretty good as well! You should try it :)

That Chickpea & Quinoa Salad was looking so good and spicy .
You've explained about it's recipe properly step by step . That's very helpful. I think i will try this but i'm not sure what will happen , cause i'm not good at cooking .
Btw thanks for your helpful post .

Thanks!

I'm sure it should work out just fine, all you do is cut vegetables pretty much and then stir them together, easy peasy haha

I have eaten this once but wasn't prepared by me. When i decide to do one myself, I will pick up the procedures from here.

Sounds good to me! Chickpeas are tasty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60