Thanksgiving reflections and prioritizing owed photography!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hey, Steemit! Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends in the US. I’m recovering from the food and friendship. It was a great holiday. For the second year, @vermillionfox and I hosted a Friendsgiving with some of the @caffetto usuals. We had turkey, corn, brussel sprouts […which @tarotbyfergus hasn’t had until last night], homemade cranberry sauce, potatoes and desserts. I was going to photograph the spread, but we destroyed it before I could get the camera. Afterwards, we all played games on the PS4 and battled in to the late night hours over dozens of games of Magic: The Gathering. The party went on until almost 2:00a.m. What a great night.

I’m going to get to the photography, but wanted to comment again on what’s happening in the market; more inmportantly, here on Steemit. I had a brief exchange with @anomadsoul through comments a couple of weeks ago. That was when STEEM was struggling to stay above $1. We both acknowledged that the mainstays will remember who was here, staying active when the price was low. My feed is pretty slow right now, but the Steemians I follow are continuing to demonstrate while they’ll always have my attention and votes. This low isn’t going to last forever. The foundational authors of Steemit will be rewarded for holding the line.

As one of those authors, I do have some new photography to share. I just got back from LA. I’m feeling the early pressure for the 6.000 new photos I just took over 13 shoots in one week. I’m excited to look through them, make some editing marks on what I’ll be starting first, but before I can, I have clients that’ve been patiently waiting for the last of photos owed. Tonight, I finished two of those clients and it’s such a relief to put a strike through their name on the list of who needs to be wrapped up before moving on. These photos are of Kristy. I’ve shared work with her previously.

Kristy is a Minnesota native, albeit, from up north. She’s a pinup and vintage enthusiast, and last minute, @mada was willing to let us shoot at his home when my original location fell through. @mada’s place is awesome. Huge windows, old furniture, all original wood, textured drapery. It’s a photographer’s dream. Maybe more for me than most because of my style of available light. I’ve been getting edits back to Kristy as I finished them, but tonight, I was finally able to send along these last few and close out what I still owed.

Thanks for reading. The next few days, this’ll be my goal. Getting the remaining edits to a couple more clients from Viva Las Vegas and the trip I took to LA and Vegas in August. No more travel for the remainder of 2018, which I’m so happy to say out loud. I had fun in LA this past week, but as most of you know, I long to stay home drawing comics with @ghostfish on my new iPad Pro, seeing my friends and family. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Wow its a amazing photography buddy..keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

That was when STEEM was struggling to stay above $1. We both acknowledged that the mainstays will remember who was here, staying active when the price was low. My feed is pretty slow right now, but the Steemians I follow are continuing you demonstrate while they’ll always have my attention and votes. This low isn’t going to last forever. The foundational authors of Steemit will be rewarded for holding the line.

Amen.

You're one of those foundational authors, @lighteye!

Happy belated Thanksgiving. Even though I'm in England we still had American Thanksgiving, only we substituted the turkey with pheasant, but it was yummy, if I do say so myself (I was the bird cooker )

Sometimes I forget to check the market because I'm really happy to be on here and even when I make one dollar it's still always kind of magical to me. It's probably because I was never a 100's of dollars earner so there is only the concept of a few here and there for me and as I've grown the market has gone down, so for me I was making a few dollars when it was at $10 and now make about the same when it is at .50 which might mean I'm growing more people (I think?) but it seems the same to me because of that.

But, I really look forward to Steemit each day and when I have to miss a day (Which I have had to do with the busy things I have to do to set up a house overseas) I always feel like I've missed something important all day.

I'm glad you had a wonderful thanksgiving, sounds like it was a blast. We ended up enjoying ours too and I met two new friends, also expats from Turkey and Germany, so it was a 'friendsgiving' for us in the end too!

That's great that you had a good holiday @donnadavisart. I almost missed it because Thanksgiving is always on 11/24 or 11/26. I was booking my trip to LA and almost planned my return trip for 11/23. A friend of mine casually mentioned that Thanksgiving was on 11/22 so I was able to correct for that before pulling the trigger on a flight. The tradition of friends over is great. I love cooking and hosting, as does @vermillionfox.

Excellent work as always! Your models are fantastic.

It's good that you closed the photo shoots of this year @kommienezuspadt.
and that you have finished with two more clients, little by little you are catching up.
You have spent a great day of thanksgiving!
it's good that they have had so much fun, after so many jobs that have passed
Here there are still people who keep publishing despite the prices because they believe in Steemit.
I also thank you for all the support you have given me during all this time and for showing such a beautiful work
I have faith that the market will go up, well, that is what I hope for.
If things go on like this, it's very difficult!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83