📷 Hallgrímskirkja, Reykjavik. Inside View.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

If you know something about Reykjavik, you probably heard about one of the most famous Lutheran churches, which is located in it. And you probably saw the appearance of the ascending-looking Hallgrímskirkja "rocket". Well, that's what's inside the church.

This huge, fifteen-meter organ rises above the entrance. Honestly, it is wonderful! I regret very much that I did not listen to it — in those days when we were in Reykjavik, there were no concerts with its participation.

A beautiful candlestick in the form of a ball with a lot of lighted candles. For some reason chained. The green trees inside the church made me slightly surprised.

But what I always like very much in churches is stained glass windows. Even the simplest, it always evoke in me some kind of joyful feeling. The main thing is to have light outside the windows.

A small tribune is almost in the middle of the hall, in front of the altar elevation. And rare tourists walk around.

The vaulted ceiling, which strikes with the beauty of symmetrical shapes and dimensions, as well as modest simplicity and the lack of any decoration, as in ordinary Catholic churches. The ceiling in addition to the outer walls is supported by two rows of columns on the sides.

Well, and the full view of the nave from the inside. Yes, the church is very high, the ceiling is on a sooo high altitude! Therefore, it can be seen from almost any part of the city)

In general, the Lutheran churches are distinguished by the pretentiousness of external forms and the simplicity of interior decoration. Without numerous paintings, icons and gilding. Simply, strictly, beautiful. It is worth to visit, listen to the organ and, if possible, go up to the viewing platform at the top.


<OLYMPUS Pen E-PL 7


My blog on Golos. Post.

Sort:  

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

I can see you put a lot of time into this post. It payed off.

I hope it, it'll be so) thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88