Hundertwasserhaus in Vienna

in #photography7 years ago

Good morning Steemit!

I am not keeping track with what day it is at Color Challenge, so I decided to post colorful one to make up for all the days of the week.

This one I took in the capital city of Austria - Vienna. It looked so much different than all the rest of the houses. I learned then that it features wavy floors and its roof is covered with earth and grass. What is more, large trees are growing from inside the rooms, with limbs extending from windows.

pr bajtarc, bukawa, dunaj 079.jpg

Within the Hundertwasserhaus, there are 53 apartments, four offices, 16 private terraces and three communal terraces, and a total of 250 trees and bushes.

The house was built between 1983 and 1985 according to the ideas and concepts of Austrian artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser with the help of architects Joseph Krawina and Peter Pelikan.

This piece of art is one of Vienna's most visited buildings and has become part of Austria's cultural heritage. Make sure to stop by when you go to visit the lovely city of Vienna.

I had to look up some facts here as my memory is not as good as my eye for photography.

Have a great weekend everyone :)

Sort:  

Can't make my mind up about these. They're cool but also kind of ugly

Very cool the trees inside remind me of Frank Lloyd Wright. He often built around trees and incorporated them into the architecture. Hundertwasser is a great painter I did not know about his architecture. I love the colored panels!

Most of the time when a vine grows on anyones house people rip it down but that one looks amazing so I would let that grow every where.

Haha that is awesome, I will try some similar way to participate in this challenge. Hope I can get a good shoot of a rainbow soon :)

amazing sir

Great photography.It is upvoted.

Wow amazing photography......

wonderful photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85