Sort:  

He did if I knew half of what he did I would be amazing

Good morning,
it's a warm, sunny and cloudless Summer morning here. The birds are singing in the trees outside of my office and I am sitting at my desk - left side is work, right side is Steemit :)

I believe you, they / he knew so much more about light, exposure, needed shutterspeed, but they had to know, because every photo cost money.
Nevertheless, your uncle must have been great, like you say, and he has shown you a wonderful thing: photography :)
We don't need to know that much about the photography techniques - I photograph mainly in AV mode / aperture priority and ISO 100. The camera does the rest ;)

Yes indeed he was a magician with the camera now it is so easy I too use AV mode most often but every now and again I feel he is looking down on me and shaking his head and I switch to manual for a few shots I think that’s why I loved playing with the lensbaby the other day it’s fun but does get you back to the basics

I am honest: I am too lazy for the manual mode, unless I have to use it, eg when I take long exposures, but often I use shutterspeed priority, and let the camera select the aperture :)

These photographers have my full respect, and their images are far more worth than todays digital photos, and I don't mean money with that, but I do not want to walk up a mountain, when I can drive by car ;)

Of course, please have your fun with the lensbaby, I like these photos very much.

I know, I should play around with manual mode sometimes too, because I know, that I would still be calculating exposure time and aperture, while you already would have taken your photos 😉

Yes Photograhy back then was truly an art form and far more technical than it is now, As I said I mostly use Aperture. Mode sometimes Shutter priority and very rarely Manual and I wil admit when I use Manual I get a lesser percentage of usable shots, its so much quicker using one of the auto modes and hence why we both use them most of the time

And do not be sure of that I would be quicker, I do cheat whenI use manual mode and look at the histogram which does make it easier than what they guys did back then they relied on their knowledge of the light and what setting where needed

The Histogramm is important, but so many times I forget to look at it.
Photography was definitely art, and the photographers had to think more about every single photo. I see something nice, and when I'm lazy, I take multiple shots from different angles. I can shoot until the SD card is full, or until the battery is empty, but I have spare cards and batteries. I can immediately see, which photos are good, and edit them on the computer...
I don't know, what is better, the old way of photographing, or how we photograph today, but I prefer today's way 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I must admit I am a bit slack at using the histogram, actually I think having the day using the Lensbaby. Was got me looking at it more now but I do not know if that will last I think we have a similar style of shooting as what you described is how I mostly shoot as well, and also always carry spare batteries and SD Cards, mind you with 2 128G cards in the camera it would have to be a long shoot to full them up
there could be much debate about which way is better, but I to prefer todays way

My camera has only 1slot, where I have a 64G card. In my backpack there are several more cards with all in all about 300G I think. I also have 2 spare batteries + a powerbank, which can load the batteries a few times. That's too much, but who knows, I might meet Bigfoot or Elvis, and need all of my spare cards and batteries 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47