Ice age is not over / Die Eiszeit ist noch nicht vorbei

in #photography5 years ago

Last Sunday after Lake Bohinj and the Vintgar Gorge I drove over the Predil Pass to the Lago del Predil because the weather was so nice and I wanted to take pictures of the ice-free lake with reflections of the surrounding mountains.

Letzten Sonntag bin ich nach dem Lake Bohinj und der Vintgar Klamm noch über den Predil Pass zum Lago del Predil gefahren, weil das Wetter so schön war und ich den eisfreien See mit Spiegelungen der umliegenden Berge fotografieren wollte.

2019-03-17-Italy-Lago-del-Predil-Ice-01.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

2019-03-17-Italy-Lago-del-Predil-Ice-02.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Unfortunately, I was wrong - the lake was not yet ice-free and there was a strong wind - so I could forget my planned photos. Instead, I photographed the ice floes, which will hopefully disappear until my next visit.

Leider habe ich mich getäuscht - der See war noch nicht eisfrei und es ging ein starker Wind - meine geplanten Fotos konnte ich also vergessen. Stattdessen habe ich also die Eisschollen fotografiert, welche bei meinem nächsten Besuch hoffentlich verschwunden sein werden.


▲click for fullsize view▲

▲click for fullsize view▲

▲click for fullsize view▲

The more I look at these pictures, the stranger or weird they seem to me somehow - but I can not explain why. Maybe it's the many bubbles in the melting ice - no idea.

Je mehr ich diese Bilder betrachte, desto seltsamer kommen sie mir irgendwie vor - ich kann aber nicht erklären, warum. Vielleicht sind es die vielen Luftblasen im schmelzenden Eis - keine Ahnung.


▲click for fullsize view▲

▲click for fullsize view▲

But these are supposed to be the last winter photos that I post before spring. From tomorrow I would like to take pictures of the spring, although the weather forecast for the next few days does not look very springlike.

Das sollen aber die letzten Winterfotos sein, die ich vor dem Frühling poste. Ab morgen möchte ich dann den Frühling fotografieren, obwohl der Wetterbericht für die nächsten Tage eher nicht frühlingshaft ausschaut.

2019-03-17-Italy-Lago-del-Predil-Ice-08.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

All photos shot handheld with my Canon EOS M50 and the Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM lens at ISO 100 • f/8 • 1/80 - 1/250 sec.

Location / Standort: Lago del Predil - Google Maps

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you very much @pixresteemer 😊

Sehr interessante Bilder hast du da gemacht :)
Oft entstehen aus einer unerwarteten Situation wirklich tolle Fotos!

Danke dir - ich habe im Vorbeifahren diese S-Kurve der Eisschollen gesehen und musste sie schnell fotografieren. Dann habe ich gleich noch ein paar Fotos gemacht. Hat in natura aber alles ein bisschen anders ausgeschaut ;)


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @artmentor

We have planted already
8071.29 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24432.66
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Howdy sir johannpiber! Hey those are still interesting pictures even though they weren't the ones you were looking for. And next time it will be nice and warm!

Thank you, @janton, I was also glad, that I got these photos. Next time the weather will be fine for sure :)

howdy again sir johanpiber! yes sir, next time you'll probably be sweating like a Russion race horse!

Oh, I have just come back from there, @janton, and it was really hot today. Unfortunately I did not take any photos, because the sun was too bright and the water was too wavy and I had no tripod with me for a long-time exposure.

oh! I'm sorry to hear that sir johannpiber! dang. How hot was it?

Nono, no problem, dear @janton, I made a little roundtrip to Slovenia and Italy with my wife, as you know. Our children prefered to sleep until the afternoon, and so we drove alone. I showed her some of my favorite photo spots and we had a really nice day.

oh I didn't know that's what happened that day, well that's wonderful to hear sir joahnn! I'm glad it went down that way.

Yes, @janton, it was a nice day, so never mind it ;)

'twas amazing photographs sir

Thank you @fherdz 😊

Whats this with Ice, you are meant to be out getting shots of the elusive beaver :)

But since there such cool shots all is forgiven

Thank you :)))

The beavers have to wait a bit longer, my friend.
Now, that spring is here, everything will get green and the plants will grow. This will make a nicer background on my beaver-photos than the gray and brown grass and plants in wintertime :)

I think these are very good photos and a very good moment. Similar, you can not often see. You will have to wait a whole year before you see the ice drift again. Indeed, this ice is very saturated with air bubbles. I wonder what natural conditions caused such a phenomenon? Thank you, dear @Johannpiber, for the wonderful pictures! Monomad is a great choice!

Thank you so much, dear @barski 😊

The ice looks strange with all these air bubbles, doesn't it? I don't think I have seen such ice before.
It does not bother me to wait a year for the next ice - today is the beginning of spring, and I hope the spring knows this and will come now ;)

Haha, I knew someone would write something about monomad :) I had to look at the camera settings, when I saw these images, but they are normal colored photos, and no B&W conversions. I have even tried to enhance the colors to get a green shine like on the first photo, but they stayed kind of black-and-white. This is also strange.

It’s very interesting to see the lake trying to defrost but then the temperature dropped sharply again!
The pieces of ice were shattered by the pressure of the whole sheet of thick ice! This is very powerful image of the power of frozen water!
It’s quite intimidating! Nature is so mysterious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much, @kaminchan 😊
Although we know, how and why most things in nature happen, nature is still mysterious, just as you say it.

Thank you so much, dear @artmentor 😉

thank you for a beautiful photo of the outgoing winter

My pleasure, @sergey44 - we all are hoping that the spring comes soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01