Maybe it's an unusual hobby...

in #photography7 years ago

image2.JPG

I spent my Saturday evening on my favorite swingset. Three hours listening to music and just flying...its really one of the most satisfying things to me. I've been a swingset enthusiast since I was a child, but my love for it never really diminished. As a teenager, my sister and I would hook our radio up to the extension cord and drag it out to the swingset, and the two of us would listen to our favorite cds and sing along to them (country livin' is nice haha). Some of my best daydreaming was done on that swingset, and I can still imagine the view...the higher you got on the swing, the more of the trees you could see on the other side of the house.

This hobby of mine slowed down when I was 18-24, that young adult age. Life got busy with college, boyfriends, friendships, etc. and in some way, the idea of swinging never really crossed my adult mind. When I was 21 I got a job at a daycare, and across the street there is a really nice neighborhood parks. One day in 2015, when I was 25, the swings just called to me. I cant remember the exact day I decided "I should swing!" I just remember that once I started again, I was hooked. I bought myself headphones, downloaded Spotify, and spent every hour long lunch break swinging away. I fractured my ankle in a car accident, and had to wear a boot, but after two weeks I had my boot-wearing self back on that swingset. In 2016, I was going through a pretty major breakup, and found myself living back at home with my parents. I would spend evenings on the swingset, thinking about my next steps in life and healing from my situation with privacy from my family. This year, I haven't been utilizing the swingset as much as in the past two years. Maybe once or twice a week instead of daily? I still appreciate each and every moment of it, and honestly I would recommend any grown adult to try swinging on a swingset for an extended period of time. It's actually very fulfilling!!

I got the watch the sunset while I was at the park. The entire atmosphere (happiness from swinging/music I was listening to/watching a beautiful sunset) made me just feel so simply happy.

image1 (2).JPG

Sort:  

Beautiful post!

Nothing unusual about that, swings are amazing and Music is great, you just brought back some happy memories of my childhood, thank you!

Awwww :) :) :)

Congratulations @jennypottuh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow this brought back some memories! When I was a young boy, I just daydreamed of swinging higher and higher and eventually getting as high as the moon!
Later in elementary school, at every recess I would head straight for the swings. My friends got on the swing the wrong way like riding a horse. Then we would swing AT each other and see how close we could come. Now THATS unusual lol.

Hahahhaa oh my gosh that would be a sight to see!! Thanks so much for your awesome comment, love learning about you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88