Whistling Frogs and a Bonus Green Lizard

in #photography7 years ago

Exactly what the title says!

This weekend I went in the backyard specifically to look for these little whistling frogs. They really are tiny things, and are pretty skittish, they don't sit still for very long.

After a few attempts with one or two, I gave up.

Here's all that I got...

Bonus Lizard!


I've taken photos of backyard frogs before


Follow

Sort:  

Cool shots! Illusive animals are so difficult to catch on photos. Timing and respectful presence are so mandatory to making it possible... A tough job either way! Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

I like the eyes of these animals!

Yeah, I agree... those eyes are out of this world! Wow!

They are a beautiful set of photos, great color! :D

Heyoooo, nice macro work. Love the texture you captured with these. I'm guessing you used a low f-stop because of a lack of light?

I didn't really think about it too well, just tried to capture them before they hopped away!
I needed a fast shutter because they were moving around a lot, so I figured F8, F11 and a fast shutter and a high iso would do the trick, and they came out OK I think, not great but ok.

These frogs are tiny, like thumbnail size, so more light with a wider aperture would end up looking like an eyeball with everything else blurry :D They're a little challenging..

Yeah, good macro is tough, much more so when the subject is moving, and even more when you're trying to use natural light.

F8-11 is usually the sharpest. I thought the depth of field was really shallow in the ones above, that's why I asked about the fstop. I figured you were trying to use natural light (outdoors) and so needed a large aperture to expose properly. I shoot on an old d90 though, and I forget the great quality you can achieve with high ISO on newer gear. Everything above 400 ISO on mine looks like crap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84