British Pence from Victoria to Elizabeth II (High Res)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

History is cool.

I think so, anyway.

A few years back on a trip up the UK I bought some old pennies from a guy in the Barras, Glasgow, featuring the monarchs going back for as long as he had.

Today I actually found an 1826 penny of King George IV on an old plantation — but it needs to be cleaned, and it's very worn.

Finding that made me pull these out and take some nice high res photos
Right Click > Copy Image Location - paste into a new window and zoom in.

Notice the direction they are facing

They alternate, after Elizabeth II the monarch will be facing to the left. Notice that they included Edward VIII who abdicated but got no coins (I don't think?), so George V and George the VI end up facing the same way but Edward VIII would have faced right... I think...


Queen Victoria

Queen Victoria (older)


King Edward VII


King George V


King George VI


Queen Elizabeth II


Do you like coins?

I don't have many old coins, but I've started a very small collection of modern coins from different places.

Really hope to find some more colonial era coins (1966 and earlier) over time. .


Follow

Sort:  

Growing up, my dad collected and sold coins. I remember going through his collection with him as a young child - the smell of copper and nickel on my hands for hours afterwards.
Thanks for that moment of nostalgia, @jamtaylor. :)

On a different note, check out that resolution! I mean, dayum.

And I reduced them In size because I thought 5000px wide was just a bit too taxing on bandwidth :P

Lol! That would have been quite a slow loading page. Haha

Nice finds and great documentation! There's something about old coins that makes you feel closer to the history of a place. I have an amateur collection but mostly early US coins. Cheers @jamtaylor

I like holding them imagining all the places they went and the world in those times, especially the 19th century stuff.

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.031 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

I like your post, good job

I bought three silver 3d coins in a junk shop to put in my christmas pudding last year. Got to fish them out and check them now I have read your post ... thanks it is interesting :)

Nice images of well used coins.

nice, but there not called pennies. 1 pence 2 pence 5 pence pieces and so on.

Whoops, noted!

Dude, I think you just created an entirely new Steemit trend.

searches for old coins and camera

I have a small camera collection, maybe I should take some nice shots of those as well hehe.

Upon time ago, Acehnese also have koin. gold koin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47