Flowers and Berries Up ClosesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

20190915_174855.jpg

This first plant is one I can identify with reasonable confidence: the Oregon grape. I don't know of any toxic plants that look like this, so I took the liberty of biting into a berry to taste it. It is definitely on the sour side. Not recommended as a primary food source for foragers, although it could likely be mixed with a sweeter berry. It is certainly plentiful in the woods around here this time of year.

20190915_174800.jpg

I have no idea what this is, though, so no taste test here! These plants grow very low to the ground and produce these red berries somewhat sporadically instead of in clusters. Any suggestions as to its identity are welcome.

20190915_174941.jpg

These pale purple asters are still blooming alongside dead flowerheads. I can't be any more specific than "aster," alas. I like these flowers, though. As most other wildflowers are drying up and dying off, these continue to bloom.

Sort:  

Oregon grape has a ton of uses. The root is good for allergies, the berries can be used for jams, jellies, wine, and dried, and I have known people to use the foliage for wreaths. The stuff is insanely prolific around here. I have been ripping it out regularly since it over takes my fences. My sheep love to eat it as well.

Pretty sure that red berry is kinnikinnick/bearberry.

That's probably accurate. I'll have to see what flowers it produces in the spring. The leaf shape looks right, though.

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!



This article has been selected and voted by @omnesplantae Content Curator.OmnesPlantae Token (OP)
Visit the discord server for a 360 ° travel experience! https://discord.gg/zd7vFSz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28