Day 4 - My Painter-Wannabe Period | 7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge

These acrylic paint tubes are what remains of my painter-wannabe period. A few years back, I had the brilliant idea of opening a shop for hand-painted wall clocks on etsy.com. A lot of efforts went into researching the market, finding the right materials and the best suppliers, coming up with a good packaging, and creating the first wall-clocks. After nearly a month of research and experiments, my shop was finally up and running. It didn't take long before I made my first sale, which boosted my enthusiasm and gave me the nudge to create more designs.

Unfortunately, several more months passed by before I made another sale. By that time, my initial enthusiasm had cooled down to the point that I was no longer able to come up with new designs. I sold another 4-5 wall clocks before I stopped making them altogether.

Acrylic paint tubes
Painter 3 - resized.jpg

You can read my tutorial on how to make a wall clock here: https://steemit.com/art/@irreverent-dan/how-to-make-a-minimalist-wall-clock-tutorial

About the challenge
I was nominated by @allyinspirit to participate in @johleen's "7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge", and that was my fourth post.

7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life. | Present one image every day for 7 days. | No people. | No explanation | Nominate someone every day. Although anyone can join in. | Use the tag #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five tags.

Thank you for reading,
Dan

Sort:  

Sounded like fun while it lasted - shame there is not a photo of these clocks you speak of =) Paint there things instead, sometimes taking the tops off the tubes opens up a whole new dimension you could not have imagined.

I still have some of them hanging on the walls at home, and I might be able to snap a shot for you during my lunch break :P

There you go, Sally:
1120057-01.jpeg

Oh my how charming! Thank you for sharing that =)

You are welcome :)

Now that's a great minimalist shot. I really like it! In particular it's not a typical gray on gray shot - it has a bit of creamy white to it, and the silver from the tubes jumps out. Very nice.

Also, the clock thing - that would have been a fun business. We have a clock collection in our home - my husband loves clocks. I'll have to shoot a vignette of them one day.

Thank you so much @countrygirl! How many clocks do you have? :)

Maybe 15-20? I'd have to go around and count them. I'll have to write myself a note to actually collect them together and take a shot to share. I have a lot of collections of things. Maybe I'll do a collection theme.

Haha, this could be an interesting theme, and I would love to see the wall clocks :)

I know right? I think it's going to be good....they are all over the house so I'll have to organize them on purpose to do a photo shoot....this is a good project for me. I have a collection of Hardy Boy books - originals from the 1930's that I'd like to photograph as well.

Hand painted wall clocks sounds great to me, a shame it didn't take off for you! Thanks for taking part in the challenge. :)

At least I tried :) Thanks for introducing this challenge! I am still struggling to finish it, though :)

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Here we go again - > Breaking News!

Check The Daily spotlights of 13 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15