Astrophotography (kind of) ~ ColorChallenge

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Saturday night was an astrophotography night. I am not an astrophotographer myself, but this was a good opportunity to test my relatively new Olympus 12-40 f/2.8 lens. One of my friends, however, is passionate about astrophotography and has all kinds of cool gadgets: a telescope with a tracking mount, a full-frame DSLR with a huge 300mm lens, 2 laptops that run the software, and a big number of cables. We almost filled the entire trunk of the car with his equipment and headed off to a village up in the mountains.

There, away from the city lights and in the company of thousands of chirping crickets, I realized that the lens is not the best performer for such type of photography. I didn't capture any constellations but instead took a few cool pictures of the telescope.

Setting up the telescope took us a good 1 hour
P1090666.jpg

Red light is easier on the eyes
P1090657.jpg

You can see the camera and its lens mounted on the top of the telescope
P1090686.jpg

I hope that you enjoyed the photos, and thank you for stopping by!

Dan

Sort:  

Lots of people take great photographs of the sky. Well maybe not so many. But then not so many, take fabulous captures of the gear itself in such a beautifully brilliant red light. Stellar images Daniel.

Hey Ally, I wouldn't call them stellar as they are a bit too noisy for my taste, but I am happy that you like them! Thanks a lot 😊

what oly body do you have??

It's actually a Panasonic body - Lumix G80 :)

That's a pity that you don't have any pictures of the stars. Nevertheless, looks like you gonna post some nice cool stuff :)
Followed!

I guess I'll have to get myself a faster lens. Thanks for following me - I do post cool content from time to time :)

Congratulations @irreverent-dan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @irreverent-dan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome.I am going to follow you.Keep steem on.
Please visit my profile hope you like my photography and if you like please don't forget to follow and upvote me..@saan 💐💐

What's the point of posting such an "Awesome" comment? You didn't follow me and I am not going to visit your profile.

You didn't upvote or follow me, and I am flagging you for spamming my comments section.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11