Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing-5.jpg

I think I’ve cut about a bajillion watermelons this Summer.

Not even joking, I’ve probably cut at least 100. We’ve got this little planter box out in our backyard that we’ve been using and a sort of compost pile for the moment. There are so many rinds out there that it looks like a freaking watermelon graveyard. In fact, my little sister told someone we were trying to grow watermelons (LOL).

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing-4.jpg

So I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of this combination before, but I’ve been so curious to see what it was like. I’m guessing that many people would find this a very strange combination and I’d have to say I understand where they’re coming from. On the other hand, I really love anything that’s covered in a peanut sauce. I also love every single ingredient in this separately so I decided to finally give this a shot.

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing-2.jpg

My verdict? Well, obviously you can tell from the fact that I’m sharing it with you I really loved it. Even more than that, I think it’s a great way to use the last watermelons of this season. Omg, I’m so sad that they’re starting to go out of season but I’m also the type of person who likes to save dessert for last. What I mean by that is that I enjoy keeping seasonal things in they’re proper season so that they’re more enjoyable. Except berries, those I HAVE to have all year long so I don’t mind cheating tbh.

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing-1.jpg

Anyways, this salad is super simple to throw together and you can use literally any veggies you’d like. The main key is to add the watermelon for that pop of refreshing sweetness. I know it sounds really weird but it’s so good.

I used some of the veggies I had on hand like radishes, carrots, and zoodled zucchini. You can of course change any of these with something you like better. Snap peas and mushrooms would be amazing for sure. Let me know if you’re brave enough to try this and what you think. I’ve been eating this everyday this week and I’m still loving it.

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing-6.jpg

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing


Prep Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 25 minutes
Yield: 4 - 6 servings

This wildly unique combination is such a great Summer dish. Serve it as a side or throw in some beans and tempeh to make a delicious lunch. Serve as soon as possible.

Ingredients

Sesame Peanut Suace:
1/4 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon chili garlic paste
1 tablespoon maple syrup
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame oil
Salad:
2 cups fresh watermelon, in small cubes
3-4 mandarins, peeled and separated
3 cups fresh kale, stems removed and finely chopped
1 cup purple cabbage, finely chopped
1 large carrot, thinly sliced
1 cup red radishes, thinly sliced
1 large zucchini, spiralized
1 tablespoon black sesame seeds
1 tablespoon sesame seeds

Instructions

Stir together the ingredients for the sauce in a medium mixing bowl until smooth.
Add all the fresh fruits and veggies to the bowl and toss to coat completely.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Cranberry Lemon No-Bake Granola Bars
  2. Loaded Everything Pizza
  3. Sea Colored Sugar Cookies + I hit 75000 Steempower
  4. Cozy breakfast

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  2. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  3. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  4. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing-3.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Wow, this is the first great, good, and very good channel that I have ordered in my life. Thank you for the determination and the great effort to achieve this to benefit from it. Thank you very much i'm from Algeria my name is chokri djediai

Thanks for the ingredients and recipe post looks so healthy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14