Blood Moon Rising - Durban, South Africa

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

On a surprisingly warm winters evening, the 27th of July saw the longest solar eclipse of this century take place. For a total time of 1h43min, light from our closest planet was obscured, casting the moon in darkness for a while, before turning a strange copper / red shade. It was literally a once in a lifetime experience.

And what was I doing? Trying to capture it on camera - of course.

IMG_6565.jpg
10 second exposure / F4 / ISO 100

Since I don't own a decent zoom lens (I sometimes borrow a 150-500mm from a friend), shooting an actual close-up of the eclipse was going to be impossible. For no apparent reason, I decided that shooting from my local beach would be the best option, as it could make for a far more interesting photo - as opposed to maybe having a tree from my garden in the foreground.

Clearly, I wasn't alone in this thinking, as hundreds of other amateur photographers were scattered about up and down the shores. Guess great minds think alike?

IMG_6569.jpg

IMG_6620.jpg
This is about as much as you can get out of the 24-105mm. That extra bright pixel beneath is the planet Mars.

In my usual eager fashion, I arrived at the beach an hour before the eclipse was due to start. This was actually quite a happy accident, as the majority of photos in this article were taken before any large celestial changes. The full moon was quite spectacular, and helped me to get a few different exposures.

Not wanting to be restricted to just one lens, I had made sure to bring my Tokina 10-17mm fisheye along, hoping that the blood red illumination would make for a great wide shot. Sadly, this wasn't to be the case, but I still made use of it for one shot.

IMG_6587.jpg

IMG_6617.jpg

In total, I spent close to three hours on the beach, with the majority of the time spent waiting for something interesting to happen. Eventfully, I had packed my camera gear away and found a grassy spot to lie down on and admire the eclipse. A few photos to remember the occasion by are good enough anyway.

Now, all that's left to do is wait for the moon to disappear again, so that I can get back to some more starscapes... hint hint. Stay tuned.

And yes, the title of this article is an obvious homage to Creedence Clearwater Revival.

I see a bad moon rising
I see trouble on the way
I see earthquakes and lightnin'
I see bad times today

Equipment Setup:

CameraCanon 6D
LensCanon 24-105 f4 L Series / Tokina 10-17mm
ProcessingLightroom CC
LocationUmhlanga Rocks, South Africa

DISCLAIMER: All photos and writing are my own original work.

Sort:  

Ouu wee, amazing captures my friend! I also checked it out when I was still working late in night. That extra shot is really etrodenary and it couldn't be better, I knew that if i tried i'd fail. Amazing shorts my friend, thanks for sharing, surely smashing a resteem and have a nice fresh start of the week!

Steem on buddy!

Thanks for the resteem bro - glad you enjoyed the photos.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-29T18:43:06
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 360.79/400.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 1.58 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06