They Grow Up So Fast! (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

For the last few weeks, I have had a family of robins living right above my apartment door. Naturally, I decided to take their photos on multiple occasions. The mother robin was extremely upset every time I came in and out of the door and was frantic when I took photos of her chicks. She, however, was the invader. She's just lucky I didn't want scrambled eggs for breakfast!

NOTE: These were taken with my Moto X4 phone camera.

MM2019IMG_20190705_124239089.jpg
Aliens! Run!

Because of the location of the nest on a light fixture above my door and under the eaves, there wasn't enough clearance for my Canon 7D. Getting these images involved standing precariously on a stool and blindly tapping the "shutter" spot on my mobile phone. All things considered, I think these turned out well enough.

MM2019IMG_20190715_143532268.jpg
A Couple More Tweets

They must have been hungry for the next two. When I put my phone above the nest, their heads went straight up and they started "peeping." "Peeep! Peeeep!" Immagine their disappointment, when the only thing they got was a flash in the face! Well, "Mom" was frantically fluttering overhead, so I'm sure they got lunch shortly after the "danger" was past.

MM2019IMG_20190716_181125809.jpg
Brother's Got a Big Mouth

It was fun to watch the chicks grow up, even if having an angry, chirping robin mother screetching at me got old quickly. At least they weren't red-winged blackbirds, though. I've had to use a tennis racket on those before!

MM2019IMG_20190716_181128407.jpg
So Does His Sister

The day after I took this last photo, they were gone. I saw one of the fledglings hopping away across the neighbor's yard, as its mother chirped the "Danger! Danger! That evil human is here!" call from a nearby tree.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

I LOVED this post! Always love your humor and your ability to make the photos come to life :) Too fun with their little beaks wide open, and I'd love to see you with the tennis racket and the blackbirds, lol. I've played tag with a rooster that got me once...I played the game with the back of a shovel hehehe

Well, they are dinosaurs, the little crappers!

what a cool post they grow so quick :)

Good work on the blind photo-ing. Glad mom didn't knock you off the stool. They are a bit aggressive then. Amazing too how big the chicks mouths are. I think they're put together as little eating machines at that age. Couldn't miss that orange target, gaping maw if you tried, Mom!

Thanks! She didn't come much closer than about six feet, fortunately for her. The red-winged blackbirds will actually buffet you and try to peck you, which is why they get the tenis racket treatment.

Exciting stuff. I know the owls in the woods would occasionally knock someone's hardhat off. Not too often, but enough to scare the hooey out of you. Never happened to me. Though little humming birds would give me a near infarction when they buzzed my orange (illegal) helmet. Birds sure can be aggressive at times. I can just imagine the old tennis racket thing.

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33