Literally "Corny" (Original Photography

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy,

The time has come! Farmers have been out in the fields and, now, the corn harvesters can be seen. Parked in fields or along the roads, these large toothed tractors look like some sort of cross between a tractor and a medieval weapon of destruction!

MM201820180910-EOS_6888.jpgCorn Plant Massacre Machine

With such amazing autumn-ish weather, I had to get out and see what was going on in the agricultural landscape around Mankato. The new Jeep is a huge upgrade over my truck and was a delight to drive around the back roads. After years driving the Ranger, I had forgotten what a vehicle with a decent suspension felt like...

MM201820180910-EOS_6882.jpgRows of Gold

Sweet corn (the kind humans prefer to eat) is harvested much earlier in the year, generally. What remains is mostly field corn, which is used as animal feed an processed into corn ethanol. The latter is rather unfortunate, as there are better options and feeding our vehicles with corn is not as "green" as one might think.

MM201820180910-EOS_6895.jpgThe Divided Hill

Regardless, the corn fields are quite pretty in their way. The border between harvested and standing crop continues to catch my attention.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

I like the giants with big teeth :) And the sweet corn. I enjoyed in my short holiday in Istanbul the fresh sweet corn on the cob sold everywhere by the street vendors.The harvest started in Romania too. Enjoy your new car!

Than you. We mostly have field corn left. The sweet corn is ready in late July or early August. It was very tasty this year!

You got a new vehicle? I remember driving my rough and tumble Isuzu Rodeo for years. It had a loud motor and you could feel every bump. When I'd rent nice vehicles for travel it was so strange driving cars the drove so smooth. One thing I miss about South Dakota was being able to buy fresh local corn. Pretty cool to see some harvesting vehicles. It hasn't felt like fall here. We've had 80 degree humid hot weather.

It really is an odd year. We had lows near freezing already, but are back in the low 80's. The leaves are falling off the trees before turning color.

Your car sounds a lot like my truck. It had a broken leaf spring, bad shocks, the struts were going, etc. I felt everything on those gravel roads. The Jeep feels disconnected from the terrain.

midwest usa?

It is. I'm in southern Minnesota.

I'm midwest too, I've never seen a Gleaner combine before:)

I'm thinking's it's new. I've never seen one that shape before. Most around these parts are more tractor-shaped. Much bigger, too. This one almost looks like a toy in comparison.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-11T02:10:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 284.60/200.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oooh! I'm at 142%!!! Such an overachiever...

Ivory. Flat design is going to die.

Please elaborate... Where does "ivory" fit? Also, if by "flat" you mean two-dimensional design, it is very much alive. With consumers typically interacting with media via flat screens and printed material, it is far from dead...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29