Green Sparks (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

After a brutal winter and a colder-than-usual spring, the fireflies are back! Winters as cold as this last one was can reduce the number of fireflies, but we have also had a wet spring. That means those that did hatch had an abundance of food. The cool weather delayed them about two weeks, but they've returned at last!

Tripod and insect-repellent in hand, I headed out to try and photograph them. The mosquitos are ravenous and bug spray doesn't do much to fend them off, but it was worth it.

MM2019luciernagas.jpg
Blurry Blinkies (multi-shot composite)

This first image shows just how difficult it can be to get them in focus, especially with vision problems. They don't blink long enough to use live view (screen on the back of the camera) to focus and I can't see well enough to manually focus through the view finder. Autofocus doesn't work at all in this low of light, so I ended up using the distance meter on the top of the lens to guess the focus.

... and eventually nailed it!

MM201920190625EOS_3613.jpg
Stars Above, Stars Below

The previous photo is a single eight-second exposure, which gives you an idea of how many were blinking at any given time. There are actually significantly moer blinking, but they're obscured by foliage.

The fireflies in this area have a few different light patterns. Most of the time, they will emit multiple quick flashes but, sometimes, they will glow for up to three seconds. With long exposure photos, these seconds-long illuminations show up as green lines.

MM201920190625EOS_3649.jpg

This last one was really pushing the abilities of my old Canon 7D. Hopefully, I'll find work sooner rather than later so that I can afford to upgrade. The 7D is decade-old tech and doesn't do well with low light.

These photos were all taken next to a little cemetery in the middle of nowhere that, for whatever reason, I tend to wind up at whenever I'm looking for barns or dark places for photos. It is located less than a quarter-mile from where I took the firefly photos. This photo was shot a few nights earlier, though.

MM201920190618EOS_3450.jpg
Strange Skyline

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome shots!!! That would be seriously cool to see all the fireflies at night. We don't have them up here oddly enough. So, do you have something to stop the itch of the mosquito bites or do you do the hard pressed X with your fingernail to attempt to stop the itch :)
Had a grilled robin yesterday :) Suicidal buggers.

Thanks! It's probably too cold for them in the winters, where you are. They don't like harsh winters, so it was actually a bit of a surprise to see so many this year. Last winter was brutal.

As for the mosquito bites, I actually saw a scientific study which explains a lot. You can become immune to mosquito bites, as far as the itchy and swelling bits go. Getting bitten between 100-200 times is enough to build up that immunity, and I definitely get that many in the first couple night outings. They still hurt when they bite, and I still try to kill as many as possible, but they don't leave itchy welts.

Mmmm grilled robin! Sasly, I clipped some poor critter crossing the highway at 60MPH (about 100KPH) on the way home from taking the Milky Way shots in the most recent post. I'm still not sure what it was, but it was black or dark brown and about beaver-sized. The way it was moving almost reminded me of a seal but, obviously, we don't get many of those in the middle of the continent. I felt bad about it. I did try to swerve.

Those are amazing shots! I'm glad you stuck it out. I love the sunset in the cemetery too!

Thanks! I went out last night and took some more, after doing a little research (Google Maps satellite, light pollution map) and managed to get fireflies and the milky way. One even had a shooting star off in the corrner. Of course, my skin looks like a map of the galaxy now. I swear the mosquitos were attacking in formation!

WOW you persistent against the Mosquitos and problems focusing sure paid off what great shots of them :)

Yeah... They were brutal! I also need a new camera. Hopefully, I'll get a decent job soon.

I hope I am not tempting fate by saying this but mosquitos generally leave me alone but my wife gets attacked by them

Good luck with the new job and camera

I have a few leads, as far as jobs, but we'll see. The camera will probably be awhile, unfortunately.

Good luck with the leads

Howdy again sir fotosdenada! Fireflys are cool. I don't see very many around here though. And I never was ambitious enough to try and photograph them so well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28