👿 That PHOTO IS PHOTOSHOPPED! 👿

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hot air balloon show
Last night's photo shoot turned out incredible!
In my town, Bend, Oregon, They had a night showing of the air balloons for families in the community. My buddy and I got our cameras and set up on a hill overlooking the show and started snapping some raw images.

Below are three long exposure images that I took and photoshopped in order to get a full streak of light across the road. I also used a layer mask to light up some of the balloons in the final image.

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 11.27.32 PM.png


IMG_9991-Edit.JPG

How much editing does a photoshopped image undergo?
This is the final image, fully edited. If you look at the three images above it and compare them, you will see that the only thing that is photoshopped are the streaks of light and the balloons all have light except the two on the sides.

I wanted to make this post to show you a real photoshopped image, and how much we photographers manipulate our images. This is an image I could have captured on camera if I had used an ND graduated filter, however, a good ND graduated filter can cost $250 w/ the filter housing that goes on the end of the lens. That is a lot of money for a piece of glass! So instead, I keep my Lightroom and Photoshop membership with Adobe for $9.99 a month and can make the image that is in my mind, by just simply clicking the shutter a few times and then blending an image together in post-production.

I think you can see now that when someone calls an image a 'photoshopped', it isn't always complete photo manipulation, just small minor adjustments that improve the image quality.

Oh and BTW, you should defintely upvote and follow @flybendor

p.s. I thought I was finished editing but then I took a second look at improving my color pallet. I decided that I wanted to contrast the Orange with the Blue in the sky, here is a look at my Hue and Saturation settings so you can get an idea of what colors you are actually seeing in the image, even though to your eye it might look like another color. for an example looking at the blue hue, I made that more aqua looking, but it is still a very pure blue. Let me know if you have any questions in the comments below and I will explain further and update the post, thank you steemit!

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 12.24.50 PM.png.

Air Balloons Over Bend, July 28th, 2017

IMG_9991-Edit-2.JPG

Sort:  

Awesome shot and edit

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @rawpride. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @flybendor to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86