Walking in a Highland Forest - The Hermitage

in #photography7 years ago


20170731-IMG_5777.jpg

Down the road from the sleepy highland village Dunkeld there is a Douglas fir tree forest, with the river Braan flowing through it. Its a lovely (and popular) place to go for a walk, and a modest two hour drive from Edinburgh.


20170731-IMG_5768.jpg

The start of the path is marked by a short tunnel that goes under a railway line that services the area.

20170731-IMG_5771.jpg

The douglas firs are huge and its almost reminiscent of the redwoods in america.. almost.. like dwarf cousins, those redwoods are insane.

20170731-IMG_5832.jpg

The Hermitage is home to a small building called Ossian's hall of mirrors. It was build by the Dukes of Atholl to honour the blind bard Ossian. The mirrors are gone but the back of the hall sports a balcony that hangs over the waterfall behind it.


20170731-IMG_5777.jpg

Here is the view of the waterfall that you get from Ossian's Hall. I spent quite a while there taking pictures of the falls but this one was my favourite.


20170731-IMG_5796.jpg

The view of the back of Ossian's Hall where you can see the balcony and where I stood for the previous shot.


20170731-IMG_5801.jpg

It's somewhat reminiscent of Lord of the Rings I thought. You almost expect to see some forest elves standing there.

20170731-IMG_5804.jpg

The tallest douglas fir in the forest stands at 200ft .. or rather I should say it stood. In January of 2017 a rather strong storm blew it over.


20170731-IMG_5809.jpg

Though there are many candidates to replace that one, given time I am sure they will reach well beyond 200ft.

20170731-IMG_5830.jpg

There is also this strange structure which is known as Ossian's Cave. It looks a bit like a Hobbit hole. It was built around 1760 for the third Earl of Breadalbane, who unsuccessfully advertised for a permanent eremite.

20170731-IMG_5812.jpg

An eremite is a hermit or recluse. I am not sure what the Earl's motivation was for actually paying a hermit to live in this cave..


20170731-IMG_5813.jpg

..I guess he saw it as a cheap way to hire a keeper for the forest.. I don't know.

20170731-IMG_5817.jpg

Shortly after encountering Ossian's cave we made our way back to the car, there are miles and miles of paths to wander and you can easily loose yourself in the forest. Its wonderful. I wanted to return in the autumn when the leaves have all changed colour but I missed my opportunity this year. I will have to pencil in a weekend next year.

!steemitworldmap 56.5574845 lat -3.684042 long Walking in the Highland Forest - The Hermitage D3SCR


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walking-in-a-highland-forest-the-hermitage


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Spectacular shots and WOW what a beautiful area so fresh green and alive love this

Thanks, yeah it's absolutely lovely. It was even pissing rain while were there and it still looked stunning there :) It was very relaxing being there.

Beautiful photos of beautiful Nature! Great work!

Outstanding! Your processing techniques I think are just excellent.

Thanks! I try to minimise how much I post process an image. With these shots I only adjusted the highlights and shadows and added a bit of sharpness. Aside from that these shots are pretty much straight out of the camera :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 25 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This is stunning walk. I wish I knew about it when I went to Scotland the other year

ah well, you will just have to come back and visit again! ;)

Some really excellent photo's there. Thanks for posting. Now following you...

Thanks! I appreciate that, and thanks for the follow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86