HMY Britannia - The Queens personal Yacht

in #photography6 years ago


13148728083_871bdc87cb_k copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Well.. not anymore! Ok lets start right .. HMY means, Her Majesty's Yacht. HMS which prefixes Navy ship names means 'Her Majesty's Ship. Anyway, The Britannia was the Queen's personal yacht up until 1997. She sailed over a million nautical miles across the globe throughout its long and illustrious career which started in 1954. She was the 83rd such vessel since King Charles II acceded to the throne in 1660, and is the second royal yacht to bear the name, the first being the racing cutter built for the Prince of Wales in 1893. Now she is retired and permanently berthed in the Leith harbour.

You can now board her for tours and the place can be booked for conferences and fancy dinner events.

Fun fact: All the commanders of this boat except the first (who was a captain) and last (who was a commodore) were Admirals. That's a lot of brass for a little boat like this. I wonder if it felt strange to command a luxury yacht when you spent your career commanding battle ships and/or commanding entire fleets!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Pretty impressive she was in service so long. I’m sure the interior is quite a sight to see. I’m curious about the color. It it purple or was that an artifact of the processing?

Yeah she served a long time! I think that's an artefact of the processing, the actual colour of the boat is blue, like the blue in the Union Jack 🇬🇧.

I’ve noticed processing raw files from my Sony that blues end up closer to purple. Strange.

Yeah you just need to fiddle with the colour balance in post I think.

Nice photo, I bet this Yacht is very luxurious inside. I can just imagine the Admirals commanding this little vessel, it must have been quite relaxing and stress free after what they were used to - I wonder if being given the duty was some sort of reward?

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Good question. I would expect it to be some kind of reward or high honour but who knows.. that's definitely a question definitely worth pursuing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90