Galleries Lafayette - Christmas Decor in Paris

in #photography6 years ago


20151027-IMG_1417 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

A lot of big shopping centres around the world tend to pull out all the stops at Christmas with their decorations, whether it's Macy's, Tiffany's, Selfridges or Harrods, they always produce something eye catching. In Paris, the Galleries Lafayette is no exception.

They have this beautiful atrium with a glass domed ceiling that they decorate every year.


20151027-IMG_1416 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

The tree itself is absolutely huge.. and I often wonder how they got it in there. The only sensible thing I can think of is that they open the dome ceiling somehow and lower in the tree on a crane. It's the only way it makes sense!


20151027-IMG_1426 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

They do a different decoration every year, this one is from 2015. If I had the means and the time I would go back every year to see what they had done that time. It's quite something. I did feel rather conspicuous standing in an upscale shop like this taking photos, but i shot they image freehand.. no tripod.. and I know of a few people who have gone there and shot the place with a tripod. One of my constant fears as a photographer is being challenged somewhere about taking pictures and that it because a huge problem. I've heard the stories and been to the 'photography is not a crime' website and some of the stories are downright disheartening.

I had one instance where it happened that someone confronted me but it went down like this:
Security guy: "Hey buddy, there's no photography with tripods here." (it was night time)
Me: "Oh ok.. is that a new rule?"
Security Guy: "No idea mate, that's just what they told me."
Me: "Ok, cool. No probs mate."
We both walk off in different directions.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Truly beautiful! The magnificence! The opulence...so fairytale pretty!

I cannot express to you just how incredibly stunning this shot is. As an aside, I always ask if I can take pictures and the response has always been positive.Even in Victoria's secret. :)

Thanks! It is an utterly stunning place.

I suspect that if I were to ask that in Victoria's Secret I would not get such a positive response ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That is absolutely amazing love to see what they put up this year we can always google it i suppose but seeing it live would be breathtaking.

Security guards they get a badge and think they are King Kong's is one reason i left Australia and living in Thailand no one here puts on there power trips :)

Enjoy your weekend buddy :)

Thanks! Yeah it would be amazing to go see it every year. I wish I had the money to do that :)

Power trips from guards are a bit of a nightmare, but I am able to avoid that crap most of the time.

It certainly would be i would love to see that...one day maybe when the steem dollar goes back up ??

Yeah your right they are all mostly brainless twats not worth the hassle :)

Oh let's hope so.. steem has been down a lot in the past week.. I really hope it will recover and grow in the next year!

I am really hoping so to it's got to turn around soon fingers crossed :)

indeed! I hope by Christmas it will be high again like last year :)

Wouldn't that be a awesome Xmas present :)

funny, I was there too that year :-)
Did you go to the top floors where you can take shots of the back of the dome? Or to the roof where you have a panoramic view over Paris?
It's one of my favorite places, I go there almost every year...

Oh I did not know that was there! You can go to the roof?! Now I definitely have to go back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87