One Shot Wonder - nr 1

in #photography6 years ago

one1.jpg

I never publish just one photo, unless it has an article with it, and the image is just a sideshow. I hardly ever upvote photography posts that only have one photo. I don't think posting one photo with a couple words works in this platform, not if you want to get good rewards and genuine comments. People need more to grasp on. I actually hate everything posted via Steepshot, because it's basically trying to use Steemit like Instagram, and we don't need another one of those cluttering this blockchain.

I much prefer telling stories and showing places with multiple images that go together, but sometimes I have one great picture, and nothing to accompany it. So the picture gets left on my own archives and never used. It's sad to leave a good photograph dusting away in the hard drive, just because it didn't have friends to play with. I don't think standing alone dims the quality of the subject at all, I think it's actually the complete opposite. So why not showcase the lone ranger and let it shine on its own.

I'm starting a new series for myself, the One Shot Wonder, where I publish one image I think is good enough to stand on it's own. Not a group of pictures, no friends to it, just one strong image.


No shitty phone pictures, no leftovers, no self portraits. One quality image that doesn't fit in with anyone else, but nonetheless, looks amazing on it's own. I don't want to do one of these every week, or try and capture just one image, I want it to come naturally, without planning and trying.


Fake Lighthouse



For my first entry to this series, is a picture I took in Hellsinki while I was waiting for my bus. I cropped out all the buildings and hussle of the city center, and pointed my camera towards the lighthouse(?) and the turbulent sky behind it. If you didn't know this is from the city center of Hellsinki, I think it looks like it's taken somewhere on a seaside.

I took a few other pictures from this spot too, but they weren't any good. Too much going on, different types of buildings and people and just mess. Sure if I had taken the time to move around and get creative, I could have gotten more, but I wasn't in the mood to do so. I just wanted to capture this one image, because it presented itself to me and I didn't really have to do anything. Taking pictures like that is my favourite way, I just keep my eyes open for great light, interesting subjects, drama in the sky. I am lazy and I don't really want to create images, but more to just capture if I see something I think would look awesome in a photograph.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and 35mm f/1.8.

Sort:  

While I agree that people should be posting quality original content, I definitely don't think every post needs to be a 5 paragraph essay with multiple photos. STEEM is an open-ended project with vast possibilities. I'd love to see it take over every facet of online content creation (not just hardcore blogging). Although steemit is an awesome blog interface, there is much more to the STEEM blockchain than Steemit and blogging. @steepshot is a great use case for picture sharing. If only all the insta-sluts knew they could monetize their likes on a blockchain. (and transaction scaling/blockchain-clogging will not be a problem here for a long long time, we aren't even close to 1% network capacity) @dlive and @dtube is awesome for videos... @steemhunt is a great way to dig new products. @actifit helps you get in shape. @letseat will take over Yelp. I personally love to use all of these tools, because although STEEM may look like just another https://medium.com/ it's actually much more akin to an Internet 2.0.

It does look like it is out in the middle of nowhere. I thought it was some part of a ship in a grouchy ocean.

I'll be keeping an eye out out for these! I need to get creating some new things!

Yes you do need to get into something new, explore!

Really cool! I think that’s a great idea and am looking forward to this series. You’re very talented so I have no doubt it will be interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82