[HEL]

in #photography6 years ago

IMG_4122.jpg

As I’ve mentioned I’ve been walking around the city quite a lot with and without camera. And this place amazes me. I used to dislike HEL a lot. But I have to admit that I was wrong. Gosh, is this how that feels like?! Not my favorite feeling, at all! Jokes a side. I didn’t know that concrete jungle would have such beautiful places. Okay, it has a lot to do how I picture cities too, random parks here and there. Mostly poor gardens and lawn, you know, how people in cities see nature. The truth is quite far from it. Apparently it is mostly about finding these things.

I like to wander around, and often I find really cool places on my own, but it is way easier if you have company that knows the cool places. And is willing to show them. Who knew that there could be little pieces of heaven in middle of HEL? Actual forests just few minute walk from city center. Or architecture that blows your mind? I’ve grown up in middle of forest, my parents still live on lakeside, and nature is extremely important to me even if I like the service that city provides. I need my alone time and what would be better ways to do it than wander in woods. I kinda was afraid I would have to give up that luxury when I decided to move in ’big city’ but I’m happy that I was wrong about that.

IMG_4124.jpg

Other than just forest and woods I freaking love plants. And I’ve tried to visit botanical garden several times already, but somehow I always manage to be late. Opening hours are so weird! Or at least for person who works…
But day off and I managed finally get in! With the evil sidekick ofc! @eveuncovered and I have pretty similar interests so it is always pleasure to scout around with her.


IMG_4175-2.jpg

Botanical garden of HEL


This and winter garden are definitely one of my favorite places in HEL, even though I haven’t actually visited the inside of winter garden yet. But the rose garden outside of winter garden is so beautiful that how bad can the inside of the greenhouse be? I adore these places not just because of plants, but also because of architecture. The greenhouse is amazing to look at. They definitely knew what they were doing back 1889.

Nobody builds like that anymore, which is a shame. The old buildings that have survived from bombings and burning the HEL back in the days are pure gold. Good old days before functionalism came to ruin everything… Not like I’m bitter or anything… Anyways! At last I got to visit this beautiful garden and I was stocked! I could live in there, all that natural light and plants trying to escape from roof windows, pure magic.

'

"Do not touch"... Well, if the hand fits, it fits... I'm wandering around with a brat, who knew.... Except everybody.


IMG_4245.jpg


Collection of dream houses

Talking about old architecture, I have a thing with old villas. Nice woodworking, disgustingly delicate pastel colors, so cute that it almost makes you feel sick. There are some of these dream houses sprinkled around the city. These beauties are just a kilometer away from the city center. Blue villa is a cafeteria and the pink one is actually still private property. There is also the worlds cutest playhouse next to blue villa, so detailed work that not most houses which are lived in are such fine work.

IMG_4241.jpg

The view from the cafe is towards city center, what do you think? Not the worst new home town, eh?

IMG_4252.jpg

IMG_4263.jpg


Island after island after island

There are endless amount of little islands in HEL some you can just walk in by bridge, some that you gave to take a boat ride, but there are many of them. I’ve visited only a few but I’ve fell in love of them. The most cutest one yet have been the ”lamb island” aka. Lammassaari. There are actually 3 lambs living in island ! Cute af! When we walked around and stoped to watch these wool fluffy-balls, one of them came to near and demanded clearly some attention while her friends were eating everything green they could find from rocky ground.

I asked that could I take one of them with me but my request got denied. Bummer. The road to Lammassaari made me feel that we were nowhere near the city. How can one be so near of city center and at the same time in middle of nowhere?

The presence of nature was intoxicating. There was almost post-apocalyptic feeling of seeing some deers on field and seeing the metropolitan area behind it. So close but so far.

IMG_4138.jpg

IMG_4135-2.jpg

IMG_4134.jpg

So, I'm doing fine, even if I've been slacking with posting. Enjoying the new hometown and what it has to offer.

Sort:  

Is someone trying to get curied with an extensive photography post about some of the beautiful places Hellsinki has to offer 😏

The photos kept me in awe of how beautiful nature is.. When I saw the first photo, I though I had seen it all, didn't know that there were more awesomeness coming my way. I love them and you captured them really nicely.

The green house dates back to 1889? Wow!! They sure did know what they were doing. That play house really is cute.

Hel is definitely a place to visit

Thanks, glad that you liked it:) yes, it dates back to 1889 when they finished making it:)

Wow! That's a long time ago. They are doing a great job in maintaining it.

Beautiful pictures. Adding Hel to my bucket list.
Too bad a brat had to get in the way of your cactus shot. It would have been perfect otherwise.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

What else do you have on your bucket list? Hanging with a brat is always fun 😝

My two favorite shots.....the first and the last.......really beautiful.

I’m so glad you like them

Hi escapist,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I just hope there are still 3 lambs left on that island. :))

Beautiful post and glad you are enjoying your new city and job.
CheerS! :)

All three still there:( I would liked to have just one!

What a beautiful place and all because of your photos. I have never heard of HEL, until now and never been to poland but what beauty does this place have in store. Perfect for a nature lover and also a photographer. You're very talented. Thanks for sharing this.

Finland. I’ve never been in Poland either. Tho because of sf3 i can soon cross off that from my bucket list!

Helsinki indeed hides very beautiful places you only need to know where to look:)

I first thought hel was helsinki but didnt want to make an assumption so searched for hel, and its also a town in Poland.

Anyway, never been to finland either, though have heard scandinavia is beautiful. Can sense that from your post as well.

Your first insting was right:) I like to use short versions out of city names for some reason 😅 I’d recommend visiting scandinavia if you have change, it is stunning!

Its definitely on the cards. Someday for sure.

What's HEL? I noticed you write it in capital letters so I wonder if it is an acronym.

I was also born and grew up in a mountainous place so forest or at least rural living is part of my life that I keep going back to when I moved to the city. If your photos are in a city then I agree, you will not totally be homesick from forest life. Those are beautiful natures in a concrete jungle. That concrete jungle does not really look concrete. It actually look so serene.

Thanks for sharing your great shots.

HEL is Helsinki, capital of Finland. There is concrete jungle too, but also hidden paradises.

Oh, I see. I didn't know that was the shortname of Helsinki. 😃 Thanks for the clarification. Indeed those are hidden paradises. Thanks again for sharing them.

haha! howdy from Texas escapist! wow, can you get anymore gorgeous photos in one post? lol. I mean stunning! thank you!

Had to leave a few out. But coming up later maybe :)thanks for the compliments 😊

howdy back there escapist! you are very welcome, you earned them!

Hellas? Helsinki? I see now in the comments we are talking about FINLAND

That botanical garden looks so tropical! Way up there on the tip of the north pole! I guess that's why they put all that protective glass around it.

Eve seems sassy, I mean touching that cactus was risky!

Cool to see such great photographs of a place so far away from me. This is the beauty of steem, thanks for using it to share your memories with us!

Yes, Helsinki indeed! There is protective glass:) Thanks for the compliments :) melts my heart !

I would if I could one day escape to Helsinki! You are the ultimate escapist is seems!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14