Riding A Hundred (plus) Year Old Train with A Fifty Year Old Brake On A 48% Steep Drop

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

One quick stop to the loo and we went through the scanners for the train. A queue of people both tired and excitedly waiting for the train greeted us. I spotted one with a dog and it's not the first time I've seen a dog up there. I saw five of them on the station, too. I wonder whether those dogs were freaking out on the cable rides, too, that is if they actually went up there the same way we did.

Everyone was waiting on the side where all the trains have been parked so we got lucky to get to run for the first caboose when they unhooked the gate to the one we're boarding. I wasn't expecting that my husband and I could have the first caboose for ourselves, surely, any guy who has that for his to do lists there would want the seats behind the driver. My husband already saved one for himself, the very one with the view.

b.jpg

Well, we thought the other side was just rocks but no. Just so you have an idea why we all thought that.

a.jpg

A family joined us and soon enough it felt like canned sardines, FELT! not smelled like okay. I had to let my bag sit down instead cause I wanted to take pics and videos.

I don't even care about how many degrees the decline of the rails nor how old the brake is but one of the guys asked about it and my husband teased him kidding it's a hundred year old. The driver said it's fifty and that's a lot younger than the one with an 80 year old brake on it. Oh well, this sounds like this ride is going to be so much more fun.

d.jpg

Soon enough we approached the tunnel and the train finally went through that burrowed hole on that proud mountain rock.

d0.jpg

It was a slow and a smooth ride but not a quiet one. The excitement inside is growing when the guy mentioned the 48% sloop and every time we approach one, the driver gets bugged about it.

c.jpg

We were closing to a barn with cows wearing those huge cowbells, ringing, playing music - echoing in the mountains.

d1.jpg

Everyone went close to the side I was sitting to take pics of those cows, seriously, they're just cows.

d3.jpg

Every now and then, I wonder whether the train would tilt when we do that cause the view on the way was just again screaming; "take a picture of me!" We all gave in cause every turn was just magical and it's hard to resist.

The first caboose was the fullest, the noisiest and the most restless in there but we could tell the driver was having a blast like we were. I wouldn't have sat anywhere else. It was the last train ride so we really got lucky getting to save our seats first.

d4.jpg

There, we could see where we're going and sometimes it also feels like we've hit the end of the rails and we're about to be poured out on those thickets of pines, then to that huge lake ahead of us.

d7.jpg

I couldn't really tell whether we're ascending or descending till I took a look at the photos I took because I was acting like someone with ADHD. The hyper mode of everyone in our caboose is just contagious, I felt the after math on my neck later that night. When my husband told me that we're going on a 48% steep drop, I was a bit nervous but I forgot about all that because of the FUN in the caboose. Am sure glad the right people shared our seats, I don't think I'd ever forget those kind and jolly Ams ever. They added spice on this ride.

d5.jpg

Soon enough, we approached a fork while another train coming from the other side approaches. The driver announced we're switching drivers cause the driver on the other train wants to go home already and bid us goodbye. We sure had a blast with him and he said he did so, too. As soon as the other driver stepped in our train, one of the guys asked for his name and announced that we're a very inquisitive group. It's true but he's actually the promoter.

I was glad that we didn't have to change train cause then I won't make it to the same seat as I was in the nook. Yey! We watched the rail switch and my husband went kneeling on his seat and stayed like so all ride through. I could tell he was having a blast and am glad cause this one's really for him. I also love trains but this was his bucket list.

d6.jpg

Soon enough the lake seem to look bigger and bigger and a highway would appear in sight every now and then. We could tell that we're nearing the clearing and before we knew it, we're on halt and had to run to catch our next ride since we had to cross that busy highway and we only had ten minutes left to do that.

Jog and run we all went and if you think we all stood there waiting for the ride on the other side you're wrong, a photo session on the view on the other side suddenly took place since our next ride was still on its way. I'll let you know the rest on the next read for now thank you for reading till here.

Have you ever had such steep a drop? If yes, which vehicle were you in, how fast did it go and how did you feel, then?

This content's 100% mine . I took some of the pics with my D Eye and some with my smartphones, the videos with different cameras. Don't like reading? Watch video in my VLOG instead



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



FOLLOW ME - @englishtchrivy.

Sort:  

Great read! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography. We just gave you a small upvote together with over 60 followers of the @travelfeed curation trail.
Have you heard of @travelfeed? Using the #travelfeed tag rewards authors and content creators who produce exceptional travel related articles, so be sure use our tag to get much bigger upvotes, resteems and be featured in our curation posts!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

That is really horrible experience to see how the train on your video is driving down. I believe once you are in then you do not feel it but when you see it from somewhere aside then you can see the whole scary stuff. My first thought was hopefully the brakes will not give up. Amazing pictures you might have adrenaline shock!

thank you, I really appreciate you commenting!

I thought no one was watching that vid so I already just hid it on a link. Well, perhaps no one wants to use their RC much these days almost no one's posting a reply, myself included .. not as often as I used to :(

That's such a scenic train ride! We would love to see your travel blogs in #travelfeed!

@englishtchrivy You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90