My New Elixir of the Gods

in #photography6 years ago


Ever since we returned from our cross country trip I've been struggling a bit, a strong desire to still be on the road creating a lack of enthusiasm for my familiar surroundings. So I've taken to ramming the roads in my vicinity in order to remind myself that I live in a beautiful area.


One such place-

2018-07-21 22.39.17.jpg




-has become a family favorite-
2018-07-21 22.39.21.jpg




-for the simple reason that it's been unusually hot and yet this spring is always freezing cold.
2018-07-21 22.40.35.jpg




And better yet, the water pouring from it is drinkable
2018-07-21 22.41.22.jpg



2018-07-21 22.41.33.jpg




and absolutely delicious!
2018-07-21 22.42.24.jpg



2018-07-21 22.43.17.jpg


My Brita has become virtually unnecessary since this discovery, and even the Reverse Osmosis water filtration system my brother has installed can't compare, if only because it's not nearly as refreshing as this nearly icy water.

Unfortunately I ventured out to fill containers on my own this time around, so no one was there to take a picture of me with my head underneath the stream- maybe next time! (Hmm, maybe that's what I'll do for my comedy open mic nomination....:)



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

I love springs, always have. That one looks like a real gusher, too, making me thirsty.

As for the head under water, there's a certain law of the internet that probably applies here; 'Pics, or it didn't happen.' ;)

Me too, and it is, it always amazes me how freaking cold it is, even when we have ninety plus weather for weeks.

I know it, I regret not taking Zoe or Ethan with me on that one!

Now you are too hip to be tied down to one place.

You are a BEATNIK!

I have always been too hip for that ;) I love traveling, love road tripping- just need crypto to rise like a phoenix so I can spend all my time doing it haha!

Crypto still getting butt kicked...

We're watching and waiting - one day we will have another December 2017 - we are are still enjoying all the cool stuff we bought from our profits back then - and next time it goes up we'll pull out 50% of the profits rather than 20%

Speaking of cool - It's frigging freezing here today (feels like Dunedin) - very glad that one of the things we bought in summer was a heat pump (air con)

It's winter where you are isn't it? Can't say I would trade, despite how frigging hot it's been ;) Someday I'll be spending our winter months elsewhere, New Zealand is on that list!

We are not used to extremes - anything above 20 deg or below 10 deg totally throws us - yesterday was about 6 deg but it didn't snow (it snows for about an hour every five years)

We still talk about back in 2002...

Hello there! It’s been awhile :-). I, too, have had a restless feeling I can’t quite figure out since visiting my sister in California and spending some time in Yosemite. Something is tugging at my heart and I’m not quite sure what it is yet! Odd how travels can do that to you. Love how you’re filling your bucket (literally and figuratively) around home. Hope you are well!

Oh wow, that's a coincidence- while we traveled to a number of places, including Arizona, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington...the redwoods of Northern California is the place that grabbed me too! I find myself daydreaming about moving there, there's magic in that soil :)

Good to hear from you, how is your family faring?

It's amazing, isn't it? I haven't been to way Northern California, but Yosemite, Tahoe, where my sister lives in Mill Valley...all of those wild, rugged, and beautiful places (even though I've been to them all before!) really caught me and I can't stop thinking about it either :). My soul is telling me something, even if it isn't "Move to California, Lady!". Ha! We are doing better now...we had a really rough go of it this year, which is why I disappeared, but things have calmed and settled and become permanent, so life is good! Until I have to go back to work anyway...ugh! How are things in your world?

Wow drinkable? It looks totally refreshing though, you did a pretty good job taking that shot and what's the water source?

It's a natural spring :)

such a lovely setting, maybe a game of Poohsticks would be nice x

Poohsticks? Haha, oh you must tell me how that game works, never heard of it but it sounds like my kind of thing!

well its nothing exciting , its a game that was invented by A.A. Milne in Winnie the Pooh , simply get 2 or more people and from a bridge drop ( drop not throw ) your chosen wooden stick or a bit of branch down the upstream of a river , then see who's stick finishes first and the designated finishing , may sound very childish but it involves a lot of thinking , there is even annual contests , it is very British x

Ohhhh, okay, I know that game, I love Pooh bear :)

who does not like Winnie the Pooh : ) have a great day x

You are so lucky! I miss the natural springs of New York. When we lived in the Adirondacks there was a creek right next to the house. It was the best water ever

When I was in Florida I missed them too! Are you back on steemit or just doing a couple fly bys? lol!

I'm trying to be back on Steemit for good and not miss a day but that is hard because work is still crazy and the biggest hurdle that keeps me away. I may be relying more on Steepshot for some short form posts. That seems to be working as I carve back ME TIME - or try to anyway.

It's good to remind yourself to be grateful of what you have and not always complain of what you don't have.
I find too easy to fall into the vicious circle of always be over critical and analyzing everything.

That's something very interesting to check out today thanks for sharing :D

@dreemit these places are looking very much beautiful . by the way have a rest also as you have done hard work in cross country so you might be feeling tired little bit.

I've never had water straight from a stream! I couldn't even begin imagining doing it here. Well, not unless I want to get me some raging diarrhea hahaha!

I'm drawing a blank with the open mic! Apart from being sunk underwater these past days, I've got nothing haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84