Saturday afternoon walk through downtown Bad Kreuznach...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

Today we took our dogs for a walk though downtown Bad Kreuznach, Rhineland-Paladine, Germany.

image.png

View from one of the bridges, on the Mannheimer Straße, overlooking the Nahe-River-Channel.

image.png

This is how the bridge looks from the east side.

image.png

IMG SRC

image.png

Along this section, the town wall contained the Fischerpforte or Ellerpforte as a watergate and in the south the Große Pforte ("Great Gate") at the bridge across the Nahe.

image.png

The so called bridge houses that were built on the Nahe bridge are one of the landmarks in Bad Kreuznach

image.png

New architecture mixes wild old houses. Many of the early 60/70ties "concrete sins", that were typical for many post WWII rebuilds in German cities that were hit by allied air raids, are being replaced by more likeable new buildings.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

The "Kornmarkt", the central market place in downtown Bad Kreuznach

image.png

image.png

image.png

One of our dogs "Emi" inspecting a asia food place at the Kornmarkt

image.png

The view onto the Mannheimer Straße with the extensive pedestrian area. Much of downtown Bad Kreuznach is characterized by pedestrian areas.

image.png

image.png

Most stores close early (6:00-7:00 pm) he in Bad Kreuznach. Which makes for a nice and layed back walk through downtown.

image.png

Confession... I'm not so fond of crowded places.

image.png

Emi is observing everything that's going on here...

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Otto enjoyed our little afternoon walk through Bad Kreuznach a lot!

Sort:  

Hey @doifeellucky thanks for the nice view from Bad Kreuznach. It is a long time ago that I visited that place.

Greetz and a !BEER from @detlev

Thank you @detlev!

Cheers!

Excellent pictures thanks for sharing them!
Expect us. We are going to #commentraid you ;-)

Thank you! Looking forward to the comments!

Cheers!

This place looks so clean! Looks like a very nice place to walk around too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your comment!

Well, yep it's pretty clean most of the time! I love walking there when it's not so crowded and especially Saturday afternoons, when the stores are still open, it's packed there!

Cheers!

I love this idea for a post! What a great way to show your local community through a walking tour. Beautiful city

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for you comment!

Yep, I though to myself why not use some of the pics that I take all the time anyways, tbh my wife doesn't approve cause it gets on her nerves to see me use my phone all the time, to make a little post of them.

When I started this post I immediately though, ugh, this is going to be insufficient without further details and background... but on the other hand it wasn't my approach to do a travel guide quality post. So, I'm quite happy to get positive feedback!

Thank you!
Cheers!

Looks like a nice walk through the urban jungle.

That is one sexy bridge!

Bridges make me happy, bridges make me sing, bridges are among some of my favorite things :)

Wow! Nice comment, thank you!

Now you make me feel a little homesick... I'm born in Chicago! Jeez could I do a great post with pics from Chicago's many bridges over the Chicago river!

Cheers!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Here's some #commentraid cake for you and these beauitful pictures.. my favorite is the last one of adorable Otto, but what a magical place this looks to be! Thank you for sharing. Cheers! ♥- Serena
Manually curated by @paintingangels.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you for your nice comment! ❤️

Awe... I'm sure Otto appreciates your compliment a lot!

It really is a nice place and it grew on me in the last years! We're living a little outside of Bad Kreuznach in a small village.

Bad Kreuznach has that charming vibe of cultural mix and welcoming, friendly attitude to it. Being a spa town it's pretty neath and tidy especially in the "Kurviertel" (Spa neigborhood). It also has some amazing parks. I'm planning a little post about my favorite parks there, the "Salinen Park".

Cheers!

It is! Thank you!

I just showed a part of the extensive pedestrian zones in Bad Kreuznach with these pics. On the not so central located part of these zones you can see a lot of local businesses struggling. Sign of the times I guess where the internet takes it's toll.

I just really hope for a renaissance of these, mostly smaller, businesses/shops.

Cheers!

It is happening all around the world, isn't it?

It seems so but I cannot speak for much of the world tbh. I've seen some of the States a little of Europe and a lot of Germany. Here in Germany it seems that in the bigger towns/cities there's a constant thinning of local businesses and also, Bad Kreuznach shows this too a little, you can observe a kind of "upclassing" in certain areas were rents are so expensive that only very economic suitable businesses can make a living there. In Wiesbaden, Frankfurt, Cologne and Düsseldorf for instance you see a lot of pricey label shops (luxury clothes, bling, furniture, carpets, boutiques and so on in areas that used to be a good mix of businesses to serve most people. It seems to have changed to serve the upper 100,000.

In the States, for instance in Florida, were I inherited a house from my Father, you can see the malls dying even. Only the very new, flashy ones seem to have a chance in the long run.

It reminds me of the situation back in the late 70ties and early 80ties were the little retail businesses, that you could find everywhere in the downtown's of most US towns/cities, took hits by the centralization of "shopping experiences" with exactly these malls that now suffer from the internet economy.

...and even here in the internet retail business only the big or affiliated seem to have a chance long term.

Amazon and Ebay seem to dominate here up to a level that they are de facto monopolists.

The free and open markets have spoken while we have got used to find the best price for any given item that we purchase.

What these developments don't take into account, and why should they even, are some of the consequences I mentioned here.

I think you can see virtual tumbleweeds blowing across many smaller businesses regardless if centralized in mall like style or in the towns centers.

Sure, as a small business owner you can let Amazon take you under your wing or use Ebay to a certain extent but I'm afraid this process is ongoing and will take out many more small businesses.

Cheers

Great picture and I love your dog's name!

Thanks for your kind comment!

Well, we gotta thing for German dog names, I guess.

Otto's parents were Hans and Anne! 🤣 His sister that lived with us too was named Momo.

Here you can see Hans, Anne, Momo and Otto in action!

Cheers!

Beautiful pictures, memories come up. During my apprenticeship we were on a training course in Bad Kreuznach. In the evening we went "lightly" drunk into the city. When we arrived at the bridge picture number 6 two wanted to jump off the bridge and did so. Quite exactly where the deck is.

Thanks for your comment!

Wow, so you're friends are the reason for them to put the signs

"Nicht von der Brücke springen! Es ist gefährlich!"

up!

Brahaha! Never seen that live which is a blessing! When I saw the signs when I took the pictures I thought to myself "who would do that, anyways?

Cheers!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86