Burghead Scotland - Architecture - Whiteiswhite Challenge – Wiwcontest RemindersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The Burghead Visitor Centre, Burghead, Moray, Scotland, is housed in the former coastguard lookout station. The history of the area dates back to 400AD. It is situated on the location of a former fort, built by the Picts over 1,500 years ago. The Pictish fort was captured by the vikings in 884.

Burghead is a small picturesque community on the Moray Firth coast not far from my hometown of Buckie. The north-east of Scotland was once a Pictish stronghold, so many standing stones and relics from the iron age can be found in the area!

No doubt I am directly descended from the Picts, as my father's family has been in the area for centuries! Now, I'm off to paint my face blue. The Romans named the the people north of Hadrian's Wall the Picti meaning the Painted People. The Romans couldn't conquer them, so the wall was build to keep the Picts out of southern Britain!

burghead visitor centre.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Don't forget to add the #wiwcontest tag if you wish to participate in the new whiteiswhite CONTEST.

Read about the contest and see last week's winners in this post.

Camera Used: Canon EOS 5D
Lens: EF28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Camera Settings: 1/250 sec; f/18; ISO 160
Software: Adobe Photoshop® CC 2017, Adobe Camera Raw, Nik Collection ColorEfex Pro

The explanation and rules for the #whiteiswhite challenge can be found in this post

Monday: White Photographed Against White
Tuesday: Animals
Wednesday: Flowers
Thursday: Food And Drink
Friday: Architecture
Saturday: Water In Nature
Sunday: Anything Goes


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.
To check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

dmcamera steemusa banner.png

TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

Sort:  

Nice! Is there anything left of the original fort?

Just mounds on a grassy area, with tons of rubble below the surface!

Damn those Vikings.

Hehe! I was always told that my blue eyes would have come from them, because the Picts had brown eyes. On the other hand, my Dad and all his siblings and my grandparents had brown eyes - likely from the Picts. My Mom was from Wales though, so she probably gave me some Viking genes. LOL!

What a cool defensive structure :)

And it is being put to good use now too!

That’s great

What a cool building! Thanks for sharing :)

You are welcome!

Very cool, my blue friend. Before traveling in Europe I was unaware of all the standing stones! I thought Stonehenge was it!

There are many in Scotland, but I guess they are just not as large and impressive as Stonehenge!

I saw them in Portugal and France, too. I've never sern Stonehenge.

Dont worry, my home town is about an hours away from Stonehenge, and I've never been!

Will you go one day, though @livinguktaiwan?

I'm going back to UK for a few weeks next year so plan to do all the touristy things.

Do you have family in the UK?

Yes, my siblings are still out there. Ultimately, that's where home always will be

Isn't that the way? I haven't seen Stonehenge either. When we lived in Connecticut we were always bringing family from Scotland to see the Statue of Liberty. Neighbors on our street had never seen it and we were less than an hour away!

When we live there we always say we'll go there one day, but that day rarely comes. I think often we take what is at our doorstep for granted too much.

That's true. I have seen more of Scotland since leaving than ever I did when I lived there. But of course, I'm always on vacation when I visit now! 😃

Thanks for the teaching of my heritage home which I know very little about. I'm looking forward to a photo of your blue face. :)

I was joking of course, but I may do it yet! Lol!

Well, given the silly selfiesI have been doing for @papa-pepper's selfie contest, I would not rule it out!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks again! You are always so busy! tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93