Trying to keep it up: Falling out of love with Steemit? - Original Content

in #photography7 years ago

Sabrina and I have been super busy the past few weeks, and as a result I've been posting a LOT less than I had in the past few months (basically since I've been on Steemit). I've been thinking a lot the past few days if maybe I'm getting bored with Steemit. I have this problem you see, I go through phases. I'm much like my mother in that regard. My dad used to call them "modes".

I come home from school and the kitchen looks like a crazy person has been loose in it. Everything is covered in a layer of flour, all the utensils and bowls are dirty, and there are at least 7 pies, 3 crumbles, 4 cakes and an assortment of other baked odds and ends covering every flat surface in the dining room. I look over at dad... "Mum's in baking mode..." "SWEET, I love this mode" I think to myself. Over the next few days baking mode fades away, things get cleaned up, life and the house return to normal.

I come home from school and walk up stairs, the living room looks like a crazy person has been loose in it. Everything is covered in bits of fabric and pieces of thread, there are scissors and buttons and pin cushions everywhere. Paper patterns pinned to cut pieces of fabric are covering every flat surface in the upper level of the house. I look over at dad... "Mum's in sewing mode..." "Cool, new shirts!" I think to myself. Over the next few days sewing mode fades away, things get cleaned up, life and the house return to normal.

My mum has many modes you see, and when she gets in one, like painting mode, renovating the kitchen mode, restoring the dining room furniture mode, or any other mode, she goes all out. But then once she's gotten it out of her system, it kinda fades away and gets replaced with a new mode. Like I said, I feel as though I have this tendency as well, but I don't want Steemit to be another mode for me. I've gotten through the "POST EVERY DAY!!!" mode and have slowed down for sure, but I am gonna keep with it, cause I really do love putting stuff up here. Sure, maybe the honeymoon is ending, but it's been a hell of a honeymoon for me. When I first started my Steemit account I honestly never imagined I would ever have 1,000 steem power, never mind the 6,000 (and growing!) I'm currently at! I never imagined this could be a place that I truly would enjoy and continue to enjoy. It's been an awesome ride getting into crypto and learning the ins and outs of this place, but it does take commitment and quite a lot of time to keep up a solid posting schedule. I'm gonna keep posting here as regularly as I can, and maybe it won't be every day, or even every other, but it will continue because I really do believe in Steemit, and hey like everyone always says, why not post it here and make something instead of throwing it up on Facebook for free right?

With all that rambling whatever out of the way, here are some shots from a recent engagement session that Sabrina and I photographed in Golden Ears Provincial park here in BC. They are some of our favorite shots of the year so far, and we can't wait to get the rest of them edited.

This was actually one of the last images we took, but I feel it is one of the most striking so I thought I would put it first. Also I think it will look best as the thumbnail image ;)

Sabrina has been really experimenting with creative techniques like reflecting and double exposures. She was so stoked when I showed her the edits of these two double exposures, I think she absolutely nailed them.

Another creative experiment by Sabrina. She intentionally fogged up her lens (a 58mm f1.4 in this case) by breathing on it to get the misty look. I think it worked, as I love these images as well.

We moved into the forest which is completely carpeted in this incredible green moss, it's a truly amazing location to see and photograph.

The light that day was really off and on, but at this point the clouds started to thin out a bit and this incredible gorgeous light started to stream in through the trees. If I were to look at this photo not knowing anything about it I would swear it was artificially lit with a strobe and some type of softbox modifier, but it was actually just pure natural light.

After the forest we started to head out of the park, but we wanted to stop quickly to take advantage of the symmetry of this long road. I love "corridor" type shots like these, so combined with the crazy light it was awesome to shoot.

I hope you liked my little ramble and as always if you enjoyed the post feel free to throw me one of those awesome up votes, you know I always appreciate them! Be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to seen new original content all the time.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

I'm glad you decided to keep your posts coming. We all go through this kind of different moods, I guess. That is some really amazing photography. Looking forward for your next post.

Thanks so much @shortcut, I'm glad you like it :) I agree it tends to go in waves, but I really enjoy Steemit so I'm gonna stick with it!

Great photos and article-- followed and up-voted!

Thanks @therealpaul! I followed you as well after reading that article about your history as an editorial cartoonist. You have a great way of writing in the "life story" way, it's really engaging :)

Thanks so much @thecryptofiend! Glad you like them :)

They are stunning but your photos always are:)

I'm really glad you're staying with Steemit because I just found you and I really love your photography!!! What a beautiful session this is and I'm grateful you shared it with us. Upvoting and following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06