Photos from home - Art and Gardens Part 2

homept2cover.jpg

Welcome to part two of my "Photos from home" series where I get a little more personal and show all my awesome friends here on Steemit some photos from my beautiful home here in Southern California! In this series I'll be sharing photos from my gardens, and my family's artwork, and any other things I think are interesting enough to photograph around here. I hope you enjoy!

IMG_0319.jpg

The Jungle that is my yard practically buries my house in exotic plants

IMG_0306.jpg

At one time this was a water fountain. After having functionality problems it became a planter. Now days it's overrun with succulents.

IMG_0312.jpg

This is an old ceramic fifty gallon wine barrell. I'm not sure exactly the history of it, but I'm pretty sure it's really old. And as you can see, like the fountain it is also getting overgrown with succulents.

IMG_0340.jpg

Here we have a nice combo of pottery and plants. Including Spider plants, Aloe Vera, and Sago Palms.

IMG_0299.jpg

While Sago Palms can resemble Palm trees they are actually not related.

IMG_0315.jpg

Non blooming Geranium on the left and White Stonecrop on the right

IMG_0293.jpg

Green Aeoniums

IMG_0281.jpg

Blooming Bougainvillea

IMG_20180906_141134.jpg

Blooming Birds of Paradise flower

IMG_20180906_135542.jpg

Giant Birds of Paradise

IMG_0294.jpg

Baby Blue Agave cacti growing on the stalk of an old bloom

IMG_0292.jpg

A Golden Barell cactus with some young ones growing on it's side

IMG_0291.jpg

My front gate and my "totem poles". And of course a hose across the driveway.

IMG_0295.jpg

It feels like I am always watering, especially during the summer

IMG_0290.jpg

Ripening Pomegranites

IMG_0302.jpg

Medusa hiding among the Silver Jade, ferns, and Avocado leaves

IMG_0283.jpg

A concrete statue, some Agave Attenuatas, and the old wrinkly trunk of an Olive tree

IMG_0288.jpg

An Onion patch

IMG_0313.jpg

Another Onion patch

IMG_0310.jpg

The front of my room. Succulents, pottery, cacti, and yep... more onions! I like onions so I grow plenty

IMG_0284.jpg

Art on the front of my house

IMG_0303.jpg

More wall art, just outside my kitchen

IMG_0296.jpg

Baja Fan Palms tower over the property

GOPR0386.JPG

Pool time!

...and that's gonna be it for this post...

but stay tuned for more posts like this in the future featuring more of the really cool stuff here at my home!!

homept2thanks.jpg

*All photos by @derekrichardson

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 34.165939 lat -117.358792 long Derek Richardson's Pad d3scr)
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

text04.png

TMC_Site_Banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

derekrichardson_red.png

Sort:  

What a wonderful garden, filled with life

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekrichardson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photos-from-home-art-and-gardens-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That’s a lot to water, especially in California. Beautiful though. Thanks for sharing these images :-)

It's way too much watering. I just paid a $250 water bill! And you know what I'm doing right now... watering! I'm ready for some dang rain already. lol!

It’s money well-spent since you get to enjoy that jungle, not to mention the pool.

I can get over how much variety you have right in your own backyard. Of course the succulents are always my favorite!

My mom and grandmother used to have an "Exotic Plants" business, so that's how I got such a great variety. I love the succulents too, there are so many interesting varieties!

We moved around a lot when I was growing up. We once rented a house on some property that had been an exotic nursery and everything had grow crazy and wild. It was like living in a jungle. I loved spending time with all of the unusual plants.

You have a beautiful garden.
This shows that we should not underestimate the great potential that our garden can have

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 83% by @ArtTurtle!

@ArtTurtle Wants To Upvote Your Art & Music!

The quickest and easiest way to start receiving an upvote for each and every single one of your art and music posts is by delegating 20 SP or more to @ArtTurtle using this delegate button. It's fully automatic and once your delegation has hit the blockchain @ArtTurtle will begin upvoting your art and music content within 45 minutes.




Don't want to give up your SP? You can also get @ArtTurtle's upvotes by signing up for free to Artopium.com! For more detailed information about @ArtTurtle and how it works be sure to check out this recent article by @Artopium titled @ArtTurtle Will Upvote Each & Every One of Your Art/Music Posts

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 256 (9/13/18)

Wow, absolutely amazing photographs.
I really like this pictures.

Gosh, your place is massive, and I recognised a lot of plants there!

It really is. 4 acres is pretty big. It takes a lot of work. But it's totally worth it .

This is such a cool idea for a post! Love seeing everything around your yard - it's so different from mine here on the opposite coast. Awesome captures, @derekrichardson!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29