Color Challenge - Yellow Wednesday ~ Lily Pads ~ Original Photography and Short Discussion ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

P1030272-1 214kb.jpg

But Where's The Requisite Frog?


I've noticed whenever you see a lily pad in the cartoons, on TV commercials, in magazines at the Dentist office, or anywhere else in the visual world, there's always a fat green frog sitting on one of the 'pads'. They seem to be everywhere, except in the real world.

I couldn't find a frog in this pond no matter how hard I tried, but decided to take the picture anyway. Figured I could Photoshop one in later on at home, to be more realistic and in-step with the frog and lily pad world.

Once I got home, and printed the picture, I realized, " I don't have Photoshop", so I was out of luck in the add-a-frog department. Don't you just hate when that happens?

So, all you get today is a standard, real-life lily pad, without the requisite frog, floating on the water doing its lily pad thing. Feel free to print or draw this photo, and add your own amphibian to the picture, if you feel like you've been short-changed in the fat frog on a lily pad world. Otherwise, please enjoy the lily, the pad, and the water 'as is'.

Thanks for stopping in for a look at a lily pad on a frog-less Yellow Wednesday.

Lumix ZS-40  26mm  1/125 @ f5.4  ISO 100




Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Sort:  

Here is The Requisite Frog!!!!

Thank you, and having tea as well. Always loved Kermit. Thanks for stopping in for a view and comment, greatly appreciated.

Your welcome Sr. : )

Excellent work dear friend @ddschteinn, no matter how much he looked for his frog he could not find it was very entertaining watching his favorite program
Thank you very much for sharing this photo
I send you a hug, have a beautiful day

Took me a second or two, but that really gave me a snortle and a lift. I'm still laughing as I write this. Thanks. You have a great night as well,and a large bearhug (frogs won't do) to you as well.

I have many photos of frogs, but never saw one on a lily pad.

Still, having read this, I will post a frog for today's colour challenge, for completeness and closure.

Greatly appreciated, as sleep eludes me.

Cryptic message to @ddschteinn: Use all you want, and the last dead one, it is the better of the lot.

Thanks for all. Will do...

I had never seen lily pads in person until my honeymoon. I was surprised to see their stems reaching down below the water. I don't know why I had never thought that they had roots down below the water, but I guess I just hadn't thought of it until I saw it.

And there were plenty frogs and toads. One was chirping and scared us into thinking it was a bear because it reverberated around the lake so loudly. Made for a good laugh when we realized what it was and how easily frightened we were.

That is one very large or vociferous frog! Though in the dark, EVERY sound seems huge, and even more so when all alone.

Never seen them from below, but the stems do seem to be very plentiful. Which makes sense. But I originally thought the same, they just floated around on the surface.

Nice photo and very creative idea! Yes, I can remember a green frog on a lily pad in cartoon or tales story which I enjoyed before sleeping time when I was a child! In the meantime, I like the natural lily pad without a green frog as in your photo! I absolutely agree with you, in real life we cannot find any frog over there! Well done! ;)

Thank you. They do look just fine without the frog. Not sure I could have snuck up on one anyway. They are very sneaky. So my 'pads' will just have to stay frog free. Glad you enjoyed the post, and it brought back memories from the past. Very nice indeed.

With my pleasure! I'm always happy reading your posts and comments! You always have creative thinking and funny stories to share with us here! Look forward to your next post with much interest! Have a nice night! ;)

Even without a frog, those are still pretty lilypads. Your colors are so rich and deep on all your photos. I hope you get to see some frogs sitting on their lilypads sometime!

Thanks, I appreciate the compliment. I'll keep my eyes open for frogs, but they are hard to sneak up on if there ever is one. Slow and stealthy, or Photoshop ( :

Or maybe you will just draw one on by hand, somehow. I like all your cartoon drawings. They add a lot to the originality of Steemit! :D

I am currently upvoting every newbie post as my own little way of assisting the community grow. Spread the massage. Share the link with your friends who need an upvote. They can drop their link as a post on this my article: https://steemit.com/steemit/@richguy/newbie-initiative-upvoting-every-newbie-with-my-usd0-01-vote. follow me on https://steemit.com/steemit/@richguy

Thanks for the support, much appreciated.

Thanks so much for the view and vote. I really appreciate it. It is hard for folks to get noticed now as the site grows, so thanks for doing this.

followed u

Well the lily pads here have nice yellow flower sometimes. I will try to kayak over there and get some fresh pics. Here is an oldie...

PIC_0857.JPG

Let me know when you do. Like to see more. That is really cool, and odd. Kind of alianic. Do you have to kayak far out from where you are?

Nope not far at all. Just about 5 houses to a cove that has lily pads. I wish I had a telephoto lens, then I could get a shot of a frog or baby turtle on them.

So nice to be on the water. Hey, that can be your next 'jumpstart' purchase we discussed. A 100-800mm lens. Then you need a canoe/kayak tripod, and waterproof Pelican case and new filters. Maybe paddling closer would be cheaper ( :
Then again, those pesky frogs and turtles are very wiley, so back to the lens...

Yeah I like your thinking!!!! I also have a Gitup 2 action cam. I could strap that to the kayak. Hmmm...I will have to investigate this. Thanks for the great comment!

Is it waterproof? That would be so cool to strap it to the BOTTOM of the kayak, and paddle through the weeds. Do one of your videos, which I greatly enjoy, and add the downwater paddle-photos to it. A pond expose...

Yes it can be. They sell a waterproof case I need to get. That is a brilliant idea and one I had not considered. Much obliged.

Welcome, just let me know once you get it out and about to we public's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88