The wall of no hope; 35mm film photography - submission 1, 3rd Photochallenge

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

The subject of this weeks challenge is "desolation". This image is a reflection of internal, emotional, desolation.

There was a time I wanted to hang my life up, change my name and disappear. This photo depicts this head space.

I created this scene in an alleyway in Minneapolis. At the time I was overwhelmed feeling completely alone and empty. I felt I was hung up to dry and the fluidity was draining out of me. Desolation is the perfect description for my experience at the time. Thank fully I broke through, dealing with what I needed to face. I worked through the challenging time and gratefully emerged into another view of life.

This image scares me a little because I know that at the time, what I felt when I hung that hanger on that wall. It was not that long ago and thankfully it feels like worlds away that I was that sad.

This is one image comprised of three 35mm negatives. It is not a trip-tic, or a series piece; it is a solo image. I made a custom negative carrier that would hold and print the 3 negatives together as one work of art. The edges of the film strip are also printed as part of the work. With the numbers counting from 1-7 being symbolic.*

*I hope this is not confusing, if any one disagrees with this being a legitimate entry, no problem at all. I will go with a different submission that uses a "normal" sized image.

Shot with a old Canon EOS 35mm film camera and a Sigma 28-300mm lens.

*note about the presentation below*

Shot on VERY inexpensive old Czech B&W film. I scanned the negative in as best as could, I know it could be much better. Soon, I may pay to have some of my favorite negatives wet scanned for digital presentation. I'd like to have them on my website when it is ready this winter.

When printed to full presentation size it is ideal at 18"x48".

The scale of that size is important for the feeling of standing in front of that wall. I hope it still comes through on your smaller device.


The wall of no hope




Sort:  

Love the texture, contrast. Beautiful.

Love this. The minimal effect with the hanger is superb, and definitely eerie.

Thank you! Much easier to take in larger I am glad you were able to enjoy it online. Best to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46