Photographs of the Vietnam War The World Has Never Seen Before (original photography)

My father was in the Airforce and stationed in Vietnam during the war. He spent a lot of time taking photos of the locals, of whom were very kind to him.

I was skimming the TV a month or so ago (I don't normally watch TV) and came across a documentary show surrounding the Vietnam war and where they are today. I can't remember what it was called or what channel, but it was really sad. A young Vietnamese woman was sobbing, because she's a history buff and knows what happened. She said that the modern generation of Vietnamese barely even know that such a war occurred. It was because the government never constructed monuments or educational programs to keep people reminded of what happened.

It saddens me because they are doing the same here in the US, concerning the Civil War by tearing down, defacing and renaming things. I fear that one day we'll have a generation that will not even be aware of what happened in the US.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it" - George Santayana

Anyway, I was thinking about this today and remembered my father was into photography during his stay and Vietnam and the following are but a few of many that I have. These have been buried away never been seen on the internet, until now.


Look at how young they were...




This one is my favorite...



Here's my father with some soldiers.

I hope that the people of Vietnam reclaim their history.

...


Thanks for any upvotes/steem/reblogs/steem dollars/comments/follows!

Sort:  

Not sure what it's worth, but I re-steemed this. I'm retired Military, so it matters to me.

Thanks @vegascomic. Glad you like seeing them.

Thank you for posting this. The pictures are extremely interesting.

Nice pics.Ive always thought that Vietnam like any countries the US government meddled with are better off without the US involvement. A lot of US soldiers then are a mess yet it is still happening.

Yeah, I'm not happy with it, either. After WWII the US was led to believe it can help prevent another great war by intervention, but it's always turned into a mess, and clearly these wars more often serve those from the military industrial complex and centralized banks to continue to profiteer from them.

Any chance of those soldiers refusing to do their bidding by any chance?

Wow, thanks for sharing these gems!

You're quite welcome, @norbu. :)

Great pictures. Thanks so much for sharing these! I resteemed this as well, simply because some things should not be forgotten.

Remembrance is what matters! In order to (try to) avoid repeating the same mistakes. Thanks for contributing to this!

You're quite correct, and I thank you @ lemouth. :)

I'd upvote and resteem, but the 7-day time limit for that came and went, like, 10 months ago. LOVE this. Thank you for sharing these photos. Are you watching the Ken Burns documentary on Vietnam? Tomorrow is the last night.

"Dead account" - no followers, not following anyone - have I been duped?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98