Becoming a Photographer on a Budget

in #photography6 years ago

Here is my little Introduction to the photographic section of Steemit. You can learn more about me on my first blog post https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cryptomergent/greetings-steemit-peeps.

I studied photography a bit in high school back in the 90s, playing around in the darkroom with black and whites and I even took a college course at the University of Southeast AK in Sitka. I really loved photography but at some point in the analogue to digital transition I stopped taking photos. Around 2014 I decided I wanted to get back into it. At this point, I think I had forgotten all the technical skills I had learned in my school years.

First I needed a camera. I looked at the highest end cheapest cameras, I only had around $400 to spend. I really wanted a DSLR camera with various lenses and the whole 9, but decided against it. What I saw in the $400 range for a DSLR didn’t attract me. I started looking around at the best compact cameras. After reading many reviews I decided to go with the Sony RX100.

I decided on this model as it was affordable, compact, could shoot RAW and had great quality reviews. I liked the idea of having a compact camera because I travel a lot and prefer to be as light as possible. It has been a good experience and I am happy with my purchase. I started to sell my photos on Dreamstime hoping to make enough to eventually buy a more professional camera.

I have not earned much but have learned a lot and am slowly building my portfolio. The image quality I can get out of the RX100 isn’t stellar, try as I may. To push my photos to the next level I rely on editing. I couldn’t afford lightroom (which looks amazing) or any expensive photo software so I tried several alternatives. I ended up buying Pixelmatr for $20. I suppose there is a better alternative now (which I need to look into). I have been happy with Pixelmatr as limited as it is. Here is an example of a photo I just edited (before and after). This is a photo from Buddhist ruins in Ayutthaya, Thailand.

DSC02769.jpg

On this edit: I decided that I wanted a little bit of bokeh (blurred background) to make the Buddha standout. I simply used the marker selection tool selected my mid and foreground (around the buddha) inverted the selection used a 1% gaussian blur and then went back and forth between the foreground and back ground adjusting the light, contrast and saturation.

I edit all of my photos before uploading so it takes a lot of time. I do enjoy the process it is very satisfying to see the image come to life. I really look forward to getting to know more of the photographers here on Steemit! If any of you have any suggestions on how I can improve my work I would be very appreciative!

Here is my portfolio - https://www.dreamstime.com/geomergent_info

Thanks, Simha

Sort:  

Great photo and edit! You are very talented my friend

Congratulations @cryptomergent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome to Steem Community @cryptomergent! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47