Sunset at the Edge of the World — O'Brien's Tower as Night Falls O'er the Cliffs of Moher

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-cm1.jpg

Go ahead, stand somewhere you're uncomfortable once in a while. It can be terrifying, freeing, and there's always the off chance you might see something a little differently.

      Edging as close as I dared to the brink of the Cliffs of Moher was an interesting experience; I'm not terribly afraid of heights, and the sheer scale of everything in the area made it very difficult to take any of it seriously. You know that niggling feeling you get, when you can't quite put your finger on what's wrong in a movie scene, until you eventually realize that the backdrop is a very clever painting? If it weren't for the blazing light streaking around the pockets of clouds, I don't think my brain would have ever moved past that conclusion. Just one long watercolour skyline, artful oil-painted bluffs, and a fall that surely had a big blue crash pad just out of shot. Weird and wonderful to think that something can be so very large and awe-inspiring, that your intelligence actually stops functioning properly and grasps at any explanation other than what you are looking at is completely real.

       These pictures don't show that dizzying scope — just the burgeoning inferno sky that provided me with enough mental ground not to topple, confounded and unaware, off the cliffs. I stood on a small outcropping of rock for these shots, after climbing over a retaining wall. This is not recommended of course, but when it comes to travel, you may be picking up the feeling of do as I say and not as I do from my posts, and you'd be about right.

crimsonclad-cm2.jpg

In the evening, everyone leaves. You can walk right by the admission fee gates, up to the edge of the world; no one is there to block your view, and no one will disturb you as you listen to the wind and the waves and watch the sky burn quietly.

      Off season and off peak time is the best way to travel, and moments like this are exactly why. I've seen photos of O'Brien's Tower and the Cliffs of Moher in the day, and let me tell you a not-very-secret secret... I like them better like this. There are absolutely times and places where mingling in crowds is the best way to experience culture and enhance your adventures, but sometimes, you just want to sit and hang your feet from a precipice while pondering being minuscule in the face of the majesty of the planet all by yourself.

crimsonclad-cm5.jpg

Come take a deep breath, and stand with me for a second.

       Here's a photosphere that shows a view of where I climbed down the rock face. You can just see the beginning of the stone ledge as you pan away from the tower. Speaking of faces, if you keep spinning all the way around, you'll see the random gentleman I found on Google taking the shot; he has his best selfie duck lips on for the occasion. Little bit of a bonus for you — I'm good like that.

13738238_10153430443761362_4318272217992549984_o.jpg

crimsonclad-cm4.jpg

As always, be safe and be smart, but be curious and be humbled. We tend to open ourselves as the world opens to us, but usually, it's not the world that makes the first move. Try the things that scare you, but don't feel like a failure when you don't. It's always, always in the journey.

       I'm going to try to post more, I promise. I have loved each and every one of the personal messages I've received, encouraging me to share more photos. This too is a work in progress, but we're going to get there. <3

All of these photos, stories, and words are my own original work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️




Hi, I'm Crimmi. I help run a top 30 Steemit witness, along with my project partner @followbtcnews. Feel free to reach out to us on Steemit Chat or Discord at any time! If we haven't earned your vote yet, please take some time to look at our tools and our work — place a vote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.


!steemitworldmap 52.971615 lat -9.430503 long Sunset at the Cliffs of Moher, Ireland D3SCR

Sort:  

What a gorgeous post by you. I'm actually half Irish though have never travelled to this beautiful country. But just look at that scenery! I'm booking my flight first thing next week, lol!

Awesome post. :)

thank you so much for coming to check out my post! I really loved driving all over Ireland. It's a lovely trip, and there's very little readjustment for an english speaker. Costs for most things were reasonable, and I booked flights in shoulder season (May), so they were fairly inexpensive as well. You should definitely go and discover your roots~

Wow babe amazing pictures.
I'm off to Ireland again next year however I doubt my pictures would be anywhere near as good as yours.
Great work Crimmy ❤️

doesn't matter as long as you're there... head to the cliffs and scream into the void for me!

You betcha babe 😉

Very good post..love the pics...

thanks for stopping in to say so!

Hello @crimsonclad,

I would honestly be terrified out of my mind to even ponder compromising my safety for such beautiful shots. Thank you for sharing your feelings of solitude and wonderment. Everything really does look like a painting, and I await to have a surreal experience like this some day c:

<3 shello

thanks for stopping in, shello! Admittedly, some experiences on my Iceland trip made me really rethink how cautious I am. I do try to be very careful, but simply by dint of some of the things I want to see, I put myself in less safe situations, and accidents happen. I am working on finding the balance of calculated risk that will both soothe my soul but also be respectful of the environment and my limitations <3

Wow, that is some beautiful scenery captured masterfully. I think I'd feel like an ant crawling over those cliffs.

<3
the expanse is vast. it's worth being an ant for a bit~

Another amazing post Crim. I look forward to curating this in Travel Digest tomorrow.

you are truly a huge inspiration. Thanks, choo

Amazing pics, the final one is awe inspiring, a beautiful blue, paradise photons 4 life. livin it doin it, nice!

I love to see you when you're on this plane of existence, soundwaves. Remind me to summon you with sky photos more often!

Oh wow that is breathtaking, definately a landscape that I want to visit and which must have inspired many mythic tales!

I bet you you are right; so much of rural Ireland feels like that... steeped in stories, wrapped in legend <3

I actually made a post about the ancient Tuatha de Danaan, ancient invaders of Ireland and now Fair Folk. If only steemit had more of an appitite for history and myth haha. I should make more posts bout them tho.

Ahhh I get so lost in your posts on this and will forever be both fan and deamer. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous photos and wonderous prose.

I always feel like no matter what I respond with, it isn't on the level of the support you give to me. Thank you, truly <3

Just you being you suits me just fine, dear Crim <3

These views are beautiful, makes me wish I was there to experience it myself! You have captured the essence of the area and when it is best viewed (in the evening). :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17