I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately...

in #photography7 years ago

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately,

 to front only the essential facts of life, 

and see what it had to teach, 

and not, 

when I came to die, discover I had not lived ... “ ~ Henry David Thoreau 


Walking in the woods or along a lake path is the best ‘me time’. When I’m in nature I notice that I’m more optimistic, calm, happy and ruminate less on life’s hardships and difficulties. 


Scientific research may be able to give physiological explanations as to why I experience increased wellbeing from my visits but I’m pragmatic–it’s my test. I want to experience what walking in nature does for me without “knowing” before I do it. 


My experiences motivate and drive me outdoors. 


My trail is part of the Niagara Peninsula–the Bruce Trail. I don’t walk the whole trail, I couldn’t do it in one day.  


It’s hilly terrain, muddy, and slippery under the fallen leaves. There are a few wooden stairs and small bridges over culverts and streams. Sometimes I get a glimpse of surrounding towns and even Lake Ontario. 


Being in the woods is reminiscent of my childhood–walking leafy paths in my black bathing suit and blue flip flops, alone. Can you imagine not caring about buzzing mosquitoes or possibly, snakes? I didn’t stop out of fear when I’d hear a snap or a rustle–well, maybe once. I knew it was a sacred place, even at the ripe old age of 10. 

It was a place to whisper and not yell out to anyone. 


Brushing away iridescent dragon flies or horse flies that buzzed my head didn’t stop my appreciation of water slapping the shore. I loved the way it turned colour in the dappled shade of overhanging trees.  


And then there was the smell of cedar. I will never forget the smell of cedar.  


After a rain, our backyard fence gives off that same scent and I’m immediately transported to my dock, to that place in the woods and can hear the sounds, feel the breeze, and the warm glow of sun on my skin.  


Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you.” ~Frank Lloyd Wright


Photos by @countrygirl with iPhone 5S

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

this is pure art in the images and lovely descriptive words. A masterpiece! It makes me want to go to the woods and front life too. Great work!!

Thanks @johnjgeddes. That means a lot to me coming from you. I'm a fan of your writing - your short stories and poetry. You use words to paint the most beautiful stories.

that is so poetic, countrygirl. I love your words too, as much as your photos :)

Thanks @ocrdu. I love your avatar by the way.

It refers to my surname, "the owl", but in old-spelling Dutch.

oh love it!!! I just looked up my last name to see if I could find something interesting....but no.....boring. My first name however means "bee" in Hebrew...maybe I'll incorporate it as a signature.

No meaning at all in your surname then, Deborah? It must come from somewhere?

No meaning in the surname....at all. It's Scottish/Irish. Usually Scottish surnames have meanings so I was surprised it didn't have one. There were some guesses about it's origins from the 1200's but no real meaning like some surnames.

Maybe some genealogical research will solve the mystery?

We actually have a book about our heritage. In it there is no mention of it. Our son had researched our lineage.

Love the smell of cedar too!!

Aye. Cedar. Something about it....clean, clears to nostrils mayhaps? Thanks for reading my post!

Very nice work!

I love the photos. Nothing beats a walk in the woods - especially this time of year when the leaves have fallen. It just seems more quiet and peaceful. Definitely a good time to reflect and find peace.

Aw, thanks! I know we keep crossing paths bc of our love for nature. I think I was inspired by you to use the "pano" on my iphone. I loved the results. It wa really slippery out there today though. The leaves make stepping a little tenuous. I slid a couple of times and was thankful for the trees - I think I might invest in a walking pole - I use a stick now, but heard the poles actually dig into the ground better. We'll see. Thanks for your comments.

Yes, your panoramic photos turned out great. I had fun using that feature on my Galaxy S7.

I get the feeling that purchasing a walking pole would be quite pricey. Just go old school and whittle one down with a knife and save some cash. Just a suggestion :)

I saved my stick...it's really sturdy. I didn't even think of whittling it down. Thanks! I' going to give that a try. Those walking poles are not cheap.

Oh and with the panoramic options...I tried to do a scan from the bottom of some trees to the tops and over my head and to the trees behind me. It didn't work - there was a black break for some reason. It's a fun option anyhow. Thanks for the encouragement!

My camera wouldn't let me scan vertically, either.

what a coincidence me commenting on this post....

yes....someone was thinking about without knowing it :)

@countrygirl - I got all choked up reading this and enjoying your pictures. When I lived in the Adirondacks, I went on daily walks up the mountain and into the woods with my dogs. I've suddenly felt a deep pang of longing to be back there with the peace and tranquility.

aw....mere.....I'm glad this brought back good memories for you. Do you still have your dogs? I don't know of anywhere except the Gulf for a quiet place to walk.....on my Holmes beach that is. Other beaches along the coast are too crowded. When I visited last time, I went to a different beach every day for two weeks, just to see if there was somewhere else I'd like to visit....nope. Anna Maria Island is where I like. It's time to visit again it's been too long. You can have my woods for your imagination if you like....I'll share.

Really appreciate this walk in the woods!! I also get calm when walking in the nature. Unfortunately, I don't have that kind of woods here, I would love to smell cedar...but here you can smell pines or eucalyptus!

Pines and eucalyptus is very nice too!! Does that mean you are in Australia? I don't know of any other place that grows it. Thanks for walking with me again!!

No, I live in Portugal. Our native forest has cork species (that don't have any peculiar smell), but we have a lot of pines and eucalyptus plantations!

It's a pleasure to walk with you in those woods!! :)

I never knew there were different kinds of eucalyptus. Koala bears love to eat that stuff but I suppose it needs the scent for them from "down under". Thanks for educating me.

Handsomely! Nature like in Belarus. I like this forest :)

When reading the post I could smell the forest and the rustle of the leaves.

Two replies....thank you so much for reading my post. This forest is very special to me. It's safe and a very quiet walk. All the leaves have fallen from the trees and are providing a beautiful landscape of orange. Pretty soon it will be white. I haven't walked this trail in the winter - don't think I will.

After reading, I remembered my childhood in a village surrounded by forest. I understand you!

There is so much to find in nature. It pays to have all your senses open. The camera is a powerful way to do that - and we all have one on our phones.

I too went down to the woods today. I am looking for all the small things. Not the big vistas for me but the small surprises. Like this one

No more than an inch high. I do hope to be in the woods when that flower opens.

Sent here by a @better post. You are on my voting list anyways.

Thank you @carrinm for your kind comments. I hope you get to see your flower open too! Thanks for the follow too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77