Organ concert at Beechworth Town Hall | North East Victoria, Australia

in #photography4 years ago

IMG_0787.jpg
Beechworth Town Hall, Victoria, Australia

Almost a week ago, I wrote about my little family outing to the historic town of Beechworth. You may remember that I came across a poster that was advertising an organ concert in a shopfront window. Well, I followed through on my promise and I did end up making an appearance. I also took a few short pieces to play, after the concert, for "open console". I was afraid I was going to be late, but I arrived just in time. It was also good to see that the had a sign outside advertising "FREE Organ Concert" to entice tourists walking around the area. The vibe was quite casual, so anyone poking their head through the door were cordially invited in by the town hall staff.

IMG_0786 2.jpg

Before I took a seat, I took a quick snap of the organ. There were no printed programmes—which was a shame. Now I cannot recall all the pieces that were performed on Sunday. The papers at the front left of the stage were actually historical notes on the organ and a collection plate for donations.

IMG_0758.jpg

From what I remember, the selection of pieces played on the organ were "popular, well known classics". This included many from the Baby-Boomer generation and even included the theme songs from Titanic and Babe. The audience were invited to sing Rule Britannia, God Save The Queen and to be politically correct—the Australian National Anthem. The songs were led by a lovely strong tenor which you will see pictured to the right of the organist.

IMG_0766.JPG

At the end of the concert, I made myself known to the organisers et al. and kindly asked if they could take my photo seated at the console. So here is a photo of me :) I played three short pieces during open console whilst everyone else was getting afternoon tea. This also gave me the opportunity to take some close-ups of the organ and shots without people in them.

IMG_0770.jpg

IMG_0778.jpg

The manual compass is 4 1/2 octaves (finishes at a 'G'), 6 stops (all except the Stopt Diapason start from Tenor 'C') and the pedal compass is 29 notes (very interesting as it's commonly either 30/32 notes). There are no independent pedal stops—they are permanently coupled to the manual. Full specifications are available at the OHTA website.

IMG_0776.jpg

IMG_0777 2.jpg

IMG_0773.jpg

IMG_0775 2.jpg

IMG_0774.jpg

The hall is a marvellous piece of architecture and has been meticulously maintained and not modernised. It has a generous acoustic and a microphone was not needed to amplify the singer. I enjoyed the afternoon entertainment and it was a fitting end to my week off from work. The icing on the cake was that I was invited to play the organ anytime (my name is now in the authorised users book!) and I would be offered a recital sometime in the future.

IMG_0781.jpg

Yours truly,
@contrabourdon


I'm co-owner of witness untersatz with organduo!



Sort:  

@tipu curate
@giphy curate 100


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

#sbi-skip !trdo

Congratulations @amico, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @contrabourdon!
@contrabourdon will receive 0.19659600 TRDO & @amico will get 0.13106400 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Upvoted 👌


Powered by witness untersatz!

!giphy hug

Posted using Partiko iOS




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

Congratulations @contrabourdon, your post successfully recieved 0.196596 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.131064 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @contrabourdon.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

Looks like a perfect place to play voluntaries by Stanley. Too bad his music wasn't included in the movie about Titanic. Maybe "Amazing Grace"? Strange to see a wide pedal compass with only one real pedal stop.

Haha. Unfortunately the Widor Toccata is out of the question...

Posted using Partiko iOS

!giphy titanic




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

Congratulations! Nice Town Hall...what a place to play your piece.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope you can command the console there for a recital one day! Looks like an ideal venue.

Posted using Partiko iOS



Hey @contrabourdon, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

great stuff, keep it coming :)

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74