The Pleiades or The Seven Sisters (M45)

in #photography7 years ago

1

The Pleiades, or Seven Sisters (M45), is an open star cluster containing middle-aged, hot stars located in the constellation of Taurus. It is among the nearest star clusters to Earth and is the cluster most obvious to the naked eye in the night sky.

The cluster is dominated by hot blue and extremely luminous stars that have formed within the last 100 million years. Dust that forms a faint reflection nebulosity around the brightest stars was thought at first to be left over from the formation of the cluster (hence the alternative name Maia Nebula after the star Maia), but is now known to be an unrelated dust cloud in the interstellar medium, through which the stars are currently passing. Computer simulations have shown that the Pleiades was probably formed from a compact configuration that resembled the Orion Nebula. Astronomers estimate that the cluster will survive for about another 250 million years, after which it will disperse due to gravitational interactions with its galactic neighborhood. (dixit Wikipedia)

2

This photo was taken from my garden with a scope (Newtonian 200/1000), my old mount (EQ6) and a sony A7R, for a total of 2,5 hours exposure in December 2015.

Technical detail of the photo here: http://www.astrobin.com/150785/

If you want more information, ask me in comment !

I hope you enjoyed it! If it is the case, resteem and follow me to see more astrophotography.

Sort:  

Do you have any experience with solar scopes? Or any recomendations?

Also, another lovely image! :)

Not yet but i pman to buy a lunt

Got a solar filter for my camera yesterday, but I'm also interested in the H-alpha stuff too. Unfortunately I don't think you can get a stand-alone 1 Angstrom filter for cameras, so I'd probably have to get a scope for that.

Fantastic picture! Have you already made a post explaining what setup you use to make these photos?
By the way, followed and waiting for the next post ;-)

It would be really nice, I'll wait for it then :-)

Gorgeous photo, as always! :)

Thanks lot!

I was wondering about the dust! It's so cool that you can capture that from your garden!!

Yes i don t live in a big city:)

Wonderful your photo. I love astronomy. I had a telescope being small and I would like to buy a new telescope to observe the sky. I'll follow you because you're good. Good job

Good idea to start watching!

Another great shot, compliments ! :)

Thanks lot!

My very favourite star cluster. On a really clear night, I've sometimes been able to see them: Here in Sydney ~ Which I feel is AMAZING.

Yes it is a so beautiful cluster...

These are some of my fave stars, probably because they are so easy to spot with the naked eye.

is now known to be an unrelated dust cloud in the interstellar medium, through which the stars are currently passing.

Thats amazing! Could this happen to us? Could we already have passed through some dust clouds and not even known about it? Maybe we could have a "Maximum overdrive" scenario ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85