Istanbul and the Black Sea

in #photography7 years ago

Hi there. Five years ago I spent a full week in Turkey with my family. We wanted a "non-standard" holiday, so the first decision was to avoid hotels and rent a flat instead from a local guy. That's a great way to plunge into a city's real life.

Instanbul is a fascinating city, full of beauty and life, stretched across two continents. The Bosphorus is the city's spinal cord.

Beauty is everywhere, in mosques...


...and in people's diversity...

Day and night....

However, what impressed me most was our trip to a small village on Black Sea's shores. The Black Sea is really special. Before getting there, I thought it would feel like being on a lake. On the other hand, it feels very big and powerful, more so than the Mediterranean. It feels like an ocean. And beaches are great.

Sort:  

Istanbul, so rich in history and so beautiful in architecture and people. It's one of the most amazing cities I have visited on my travelings. Hope to go there another time soon. Thanks for sharing, upvoted!

nice post :)

but why are there sunshades in the water in the last picture? :) Or is the ocean usually further away?

followed <3

The tide was rising. I love that picture :-)

Great city and great country. We also had nice holidays there :)

The market looks interesting. Did you bought anything there which you could eventually post here?
Also, was it worth to ask a local guy instead of just booking a hotel?

We did buy something in the Great Bazaar...not sure I have pictures...
As for housing, we booked the flat via https://www.homelidays.com/ It's a great site, a bit like AirBnB, with a reputation system, so that if you are a poor tenant or landlord, people stay away from you...

What do you mean with people stay away from you?

I mean that if you e.g. damage the place where you are staying, your rep goes down, so next time you want to rent a flat people may not be willing to accept you as a tenant. and vice versa.

Oh yeah, well that's a good system :)
Is homelidays an insider version of AirBnB?

You should look at Asian market sometimes I thought that nothing could be bought there))) However I bought and even ate ))) Today write about this


followed you

On my list for the next holidays !!
Thanks for sharing

Great read! :)

I have never been there but looks great
followed your as I like travelling myself and write about it

I still could not go to Istanbul in Turkey live in yet.But thanks to the internet I know a bit.You are very lucky to see Istanbul. I wanted to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30